updated  

Help a family with gardening in Lazy, Slovakia

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Please read the text below before applying.
    ———
    For the summer season we have enough workawayers, for September and October we are interested in workawayers with technical skills and muscles :) .

    You are very welcome to come and join us in rural Slovakia. You can either come alone or bring a friend. We have a small scale farm with goats, horses, pigs and chickens. Oh and a lot of happy guests from May to September enjoying a farm style holiday.
    We eat vegetarian.

    Since we are often busy we want someone to help us by cooking for our family and do the shopping for the meals in Spring and Summer.

    You will also help in our private vegetable garden and if you have experience and enjoy training horses, we appreciate some help in that field as well.

    From September we start preparing for the winter, cleaning stables from our animals, cutting wood for our (and your) wood stove and making fences

    We have had workawayers for many years, we like honest and clear arrangements. You will get adequate accommodation and nice food. We have a pool in the summer months. You will get the chance to receive hands-on experience of country living. If what we do interests you, we will be very happy to share our knowledge.

    The typical Workawayer help load at our place is 20-25 hours a week, organized on a day to day basis. We try to rotate days off for Workawayers to explore the nature of our slice of paradise.

    We = an international family of three (Arnold, Bernadette and our daughter Katinka) which have settled after an international career in 2008 'in the middle of no-where' of rural Slovakia. We only consider requests addressed to us (including our names) and not a copy-and-paste which has been sent to many places. Because will also and always answer you a.s.a.p and personally.

    On our calendar you can see for which period we need help, however if you have your own accommodation like a campervan or caravan or whatever we might also be able to host you when the calendar is on 'yellow'.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get the chance to receive hands-on experience of country living & a sustainable sound lifestyle. If what we do interests you, we will be very happy to help you learn.

  • Help

    Help

    From April till October we welcome Workawayers on our slice of paradise.

    In April and May we get ready for the summer season, help is needed with things like mowing grass, helping in the vegetable garden and cooking. You should like solitude or come with a friend in Spring.

    In June, July and August you can help us with cooking, watering plants and sometimes on the farm (bringing water to the animals, checking fences, weeding in the vegetable garden), it might also involve shopping in the towns around us for our shared meals.

    In September and October the help can be on the farm including cleaning stables, or cutting wood or maintenance of our buildings (like painting).

    We are always looking for optimistic and nice people who like other people incl. children, animals and nature. Our ideal work-awayer is friendly, responsible, self motivated and we can count on her/him.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Slovak: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private wagon and a caravan for our workawayers with a bed, kitchen, table, chairs etc. Sanitary facilities are nice and clean. You can make a camp fire :) or join others who will certainly do.

    We have free but limited WiFi and a big set-up pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very flexible and lots of things are open for discussion.
    We think that workaway should be of mutual benefit, you enjoy your stay and we get good help.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Work is well organised at our place so you and we can plan which hours you work for us and which hours you work for yourself. However you need your own data since ours is too slow and limited.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a campsite so Workawayers with their own van are very welcome :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    21 hours a week

  • ...

    This host has been visited by a member of the Workaway team

    "Our experience here as Workaway Ambassadors was great. Not only did we learn a lot about farming but we met the best people. The hosts are really loving people and they made everything with love. They are very hardworkers and funny and they make the best cheese ever! Their daughter is adorable and we really get along with her, we miss her and she became as our little niece. All the animals are really good and you can have funny moments with the baby goats or feeding the little lambs. The wagon has everything you need and they make sure that you have everything to eat. We have nothing but thanks to you and we really hope to come back some day."

    - Flavia and Diego (Workaway Ambassadors)
Host ref number: 847122382812

Feedback (58)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)
















































































Garden near the forrest in Marianka, Slovakia
Help on a neo-permaculture project in Cervenany, Slovakia