Share our wild, try-to-be sustainable, laid-back family lifestyle in Olsavica, Slovakia

Country

Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

Favourited 12 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are family of 4, Martina, Filip and two little girls Zina (3 years old) and Lana (newborn). We live in a small settlement called Podproč in the north-east of Slovakia, right opposite to Spiš castle.

    Our projects
    Building: greenhouse, new vegetable beds, wooden fence, tiny house construction (not started yet).
    Babysitting and creative play: we have almost 4 year old girl and one baby girl. The older one is kind of unschooled and likes any type of social interaction but for now does not speak any foreign language, only Slovak and Czech but we beleive that she can learn some with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share our knowledge of gardening, permaculture and construction. Filip has a lot experience with building fireplaces and stoves and can share those as well.
    We can also talk to you about homebirth if you are interested.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome all workawayers that would like to share with us our lifestyle. This consists of small construction work, gardening, having fun with our little girls, picking up herbs and mushrooms.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Martina speaks several languages (English, French, some Spanish and some Russian) that she would love to practice but also it would be great if our childer could catch up some language skills.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two options for accommodation:
    1. We can provide you a tent with camping equipment and you can camp in our garden.
    2. We can provide you bedroom in our house.
    Our family lives in a house with 3 bedrooms and we use only one of them. There is kitchen and bathroom with warm running water in the house. There is also outdoor kitchen in the garden.

    Wi-fi is in the house but we do not keep it on all the time.

    Eating
    We eat mostly vegetarian diet we prepare ourselves. We eat a lot Slovak traditional dishes that we will love to share with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Access to our place is not the easiest one. Please check Podproc on the map properly and see the location.
    If travelling by car, the best road is via Bijacovce and then non asphalt road leading to our village. The road is far from being good and when you think it is bad it will get worse three more times before you arrive to Podproc :)
    If travelling by public transport, you can check connetion on the following website: cp.sk, the bus stop closest to our place is called Bijacovce, Pri Dube and from that place, you need to walk 5-6km but we can give you a ride as well if you need. We also can give you a ride from Spisske Podhradie which is the closest town. Another access road is from village called Brutovce (so you can check bus stop Brutovce too) but from there it is also 6km walk to our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wi-fi, but it is not running the best... so it depends how good internet connection is needed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The road leading to our house is hardly accesible by normal car so always discuss with us beforehead.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you have friendly dog or cat, it is OK. We have dog ourselves, he is called Berty and it is west siberian laika.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 958249286475