Help welcome in the garden near Modena, Italy

  • Favourited 57 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am Giulio, a world traveller born in the north of Italy, I have lived in Spain and in Mexico too.
    My family owns an old farm with an orchard, many beautiful cherry trees.
    As I grew up there, I have so many amazing memories and I don't want the place to fall apart!
    Only my mum lives in the old big house(my dad died some years ago), so I am trying to help with the maintenance

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    you could practice several languages,like italian, spanish and english.
    You could learn some italian recipes and eat some italian food
    we could organize some sightseeing to some close cities like Verona, or some walks in the nature
    you could do sport or yoga in the middle of of the nature
    playing cards or board games
    the idea is basically to get along well and have a good time together.

  • Help

    Help

    The help welcome is mainly gardening, moving stuff, cleaning, painting and picking cherries.
    The cherries season is normally from may 20th until june 15th, depending on the weather (rain, temperature)
    Normally you will be asked to help in the mornings
    the days off are not always the same, sometimes I could tell you with a short notice.
    We can discuss several arrangements that could fit both of us in advance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have a private bedroom with a shared bathroom
    If you travel together with someone, you might have to share a double bed.
    There is a internet connection in the house.
    Volunteers must keep the common areas, kitchen and bathroom clean.
    Volunteers must be respectful and behave in an appropriate manner inside and outside the farm
    My mum might prepare the meals, she's an old school italian cook.
    The house is like 2 km away from the center of the closest town.
    Be aware the small town is not very exciting and there are not many things to do.
    That's why couples or 2/3 friends are welcome too
    The GELATO/ICE CREAM IS AMAZING though, hahahaha
    We don't mind if you smoke, but please smoke outside the house, thank you
    Be aware that in the countryside there might be insects like bees and spiders, don't come if you are allergic!
    In july or august it could be quite hot. A fan will be provided for the bedroom, but there is no aircon.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    if you have a car and you are driving, you can easily visit many cities in your day off.
    Bologna and Verona are the closest airports, less than 1 h away.
    Milan, Venice and Florence are roughly 1,5 hours drive away, the sea and the mountains like 2 h drive away.
    If you don't have a car, I could drive you to the closest train station and you could move around by train.
    you could reach Modena in 20-25 minutes by train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is internet connection, not sure it's good if you need a fast one for big downloads/uploads

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 935142921458

Feedback

Share experiences through art and culture at my an artist's residence in Sicily, Italy
English language practice and cultural exchange with our family in Monfalcone, Italy