Actively enjoy the space and freedom of the Drakensberg based on a smallholding in Underberg, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A couple who are used to constant travel suddenly own a smallholding (impulse buy) with donkeys (spontaneous rescue mission) daft dogs and chickens. Now we’re in, we’re in. Join us!

    We’re not brave enough to be real farmers but are trying to rehabilitate the 14ha valley we find ourselves custodians of and by sticking to personal and permaculture-ish principles, manage to grow more food than we need. There is a cottage for holiday rent and another we aim to renovate as well as a long ToDo list of ideas to implement, but with other work that sometimes keeps one indoors all day it is, frustratingly, forever growing longer.

    We spend a lot of time in the mountains and with Covid restrictions now lifted, travel for work and races is on the cards for us again so our ideal Workawayer (Workeraway?) is capable of looking after the homestead should we need to be away for a night or more (ie have dogs take over your cottage, if not your bed) and content to be on their own for a bit.

    Work wise there are endless jobs to do and projects to tackle depending on your abilities, creativity and willingness to leave your mark. Growing food, general land maintenance, building animal shelters, clearing invasives, planting indigenous trees and an orchard, beekeeping. We need you to be able to operate independently at times and stay mindful – as though it were your own place.

    We live in the incredibly beautiful Southern Drakensberg region, just outside Underberg town in KwaZuluNatal where all four seasons are evident, often colliding in one day. To fully appreciate the natural beauty of the area you can take advantage of the trail running, hiking, mtb and river paddling opportunities here, and we are happy to share all this with you and encourage a lot of playtime to balance out work.
    It’s also a top destination for flyfishing but we’re clueless on that.
    The birdlife is prolific and wildflowers are spectacular. As Underberg is not known for its pumping party scene, your nightlife is restricted to limitless skies filled with owl and jackal calls.

    Accom in your own basic but comfortable self-catering cottage so you can be as independent as we like to be.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are South Africans who, between us, have traveled extensively - one for sport and one for general being, choosing to live and work all over the world and now settled for two years here. We understand the need to be still for a bit while traveling, to have a base from which to properly explore an area and that accommodation is often a crippling expense.
    We have immersed ourselves here and can share a lot of knowledge and experience about the outdoor world but we are also private people and expect you to entertain yourselves with all the opportunities available in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    The help options are mostly all outdoors and physical on the 14 hectare land getting dirty and in touch with the earth, and flexible depending on your current frame of mind - do you need to nurture young seedlings or whack out undesirables, build a useful structure or break down an ugly one? There is no set routine. If you have specific skills that you want put to use then we will try find a project for them.
    (If you have any experience burro racing and want to help train up our donkeys, you're in!)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own private cottage for one person or a couple (or we can put 2 single beds in for friends traveling together but it will be cosy) It is open plan with kitchen and lounge area, couch and table. Electric lights and plug points, Gas stove, oven and geyser. There is cell reception but no wifi.
    We will share some (vegetarian) meals but you will largely be independent. In Summer there is plenty of fresh food from the garden and we always get fresh farm milk from the neighbouring farm.
    The small town is 10km away, easy shopping at a well stocked Superspar.
    A few coffeeshops in the area have wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a great place for athletes wanting a place to train and still keep busy otherwise. We sit at an altitude of 1500m with access to the runnable trails of the little Berg and up passes to the Lesotho escarpment with many peaks over 3000m. And also great if you need time and space to write your novel or paint your pictures. It’s a haven and a place to be yourself.
    One or two persons (traveling together) only. So you really should be content without a lot of people around.
    Traveling dogs that can refrain from eating free ranging chickens and wildlife are welcome.
    We are new to hosting, please feel free to ask for further details.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Very happy for dig nomads to stay however they would have to be independent in terms of data, we do not have freely available wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15hrs/week


Host ref number: 934361429996