Join our family at our homestead near Asheville North Carolina, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 11 times
  • Last activity: 23/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello , we are Katie and Mitch we own 35 acres of homestead together with our 2 children near Asheville North Carolina. We are 30 min from Asheville in the Appalachian Mountains.
    We raise chickens, bunnies ,goats ,pigs ducks ,cows and we have a lots of dogs We are growing our food ,gardening ,planting a lot of fruit trees .
    We are NOT a business, just a homestead growing lots of food.
    We do not sell anything to the public .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you how to live off the land, process meat, food preservation, groom dogs.
    There are many beautiful hiking options nearby as well as the artsy city of Asheville with all its offerings.
    Katie is from Poland she would love to teach you basic polish and how to cook polish dishes .

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with feeding and general care of animals , cleaning stalls , weeding , planting , gardening ,basic carpentry skills will be appreciated for building and repairing animals structures. We’re also looking for help remodeling a camper as an additional living space for workawayers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private yurt
    or unfinished RV with use of a private bathroom in our basement

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There’s a kitchen in the camper available for you to prepare your meals and a fridge for your use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 933298394495

Feedback

Help us create a four acre sanctuary in Morgan Hill, California, USA
Experience family life in a rural setting in Oregon, USA