Family-farm in Iceland, challenging experience and discover of nature

Country

Iceland

updated  

Favourited 1104 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    what makes us smile everyday???? 16 milking cows, 330 sheep, 6 chicken, 3 cats and our 4 little children! they make our day worth living, but include 24-h hard working and tough challenge 365 days a year. we live in the north-west of iceland and enjoy beeing farmers with all our heart. we truely respect nature and environment and try to live in many ways in the organic way although we don´t have an organic label. we live very simple and try not to waste. we want to enjoy, smile and make good vibrations to keep the world a good place!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we believe in good vibrations and nature. everyone gets back what he gives. icelandic nature teaches us that its possible to survive with nearly nothing and that we as human beeings are nothing compared to the power of nature. we learn respect and gratefulness. we see everyday how beautiful earth is and how close life and death are. the simple things in life it what makes the difference....

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    feeding and takeing care of the animals is a big part of our live and takes much time. especially in may when 700 lambs are born we need every helping hand to make sure our animals feel well and have a healthy start to life. there is always something to do on a farm, never ending story of fixing, painting, repairing, cleaning, cleaning and cleaning (outside, in the stables and inside the farmhouse). our volunteers should know how to handle a hammer or have any other skills in practical work. we look for positive people who are willing to work hard; someone who loves beeing a helping hand and wants to be surrounded by animals and children without beeing afraid of dust and dirt, but is also able to spend time alone. we look for volunteers who can stay at least 2 month and are very flexible in workingtime because sometimes our days can be really long. we search for people who want to share our passion and participate in our daily familyfarmlife.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have an very old farmhouse 5 km from where we live. it is a very simple, but somehow cosy house with several rooms. some people might call it very shabby, but we think it has a good character and a very friendly soul. it has a shower, toilet, kitchen with oven and microwave. there is no tv or internet. Helpers can come to the farm walking or by bike (that we would provide). have in mind that the weather in Iceland is unpredictable. it can rain cats and dogs or be very stormy, nature rules!
    Helpers make breakfast and dinner themselves at their place (we provide food for that) and eat lunch with all the family. our food is simple and very much the icelandic culture mixed with the german style because the farmers wife is german. we try to bake ourselves and use as much from our farm as possible ( meat (sheep), milk and cheese, eggs, potatoes..)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we live 5 km from a big bus stop, but its very common to go hitchhiking in iceland. the weekends can be spent just beeing in the old farmhouse, going for a walk to the seasore (5 min away) or up to the hills to see the beautiful countryside. the next village is 30 km away. there is a nice swimmingpool and seal watching center and several great sightseeing places nearby for example hvítserkur, the "dragon rock".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 931472395873