Gardening and maintenance, with your own apartment - Poreč, Croatia

Country

Croatia

Favourited 389 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    284

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please note you will need to be on STAND BY for three hours a day. Help will be needed randomly during that time, and not every day, but you need to be available for that total time. At least one volunteer needs to speak German.

    Poreč is a popular tourist town on the Adriatic coast, perfect for spring adventures and summer leisure.
    We are a family of three - Kristina (35), my grandmother (84) and my father (65), and two cats.
    We live in a family house in Poreč, Croatia, with a garden and a vicinity of the old town center, a beach, and a supermarket, everything within walking distance.
    I speak English, my grandmother speaks German, and my father speaks Italian.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    [Germans needed]


    Our family house is located next to the old town center of Poreč, an ancient roman settlement that now has a rich historical value and is very tourism-oriented (last year's most popular Croatian tourist destination). Situated on the Adriatic coast, its prime location offers you a perfect start of any excursion through Istria (Brijuni islands, Motovun village...) or Italy (Venice).

    You can also enjoy time in our own garden - trees, plants and flowers you can find here (at different times of the year):
    - fruit trees: grapes, kiwi, apricots, figs, pomegranate, medlar, Japanese apple, tangerines, lemon, cherries, currant, olives
    - other plants: lavender, palm trees, lilies, roses, primroses, buttercups, saffrons, pansies, peonies, magnolia, ivy, hedges, and lots of others!

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteering is expected to take up to 15 hours a week (per WorkAwayer).
    Please note you will need to be on STAND BY for three hours a day. Help will be needed randomly during that time, and not every day, but you need to be available for that total time. At least one volunteer needs to speak German.

    Volunteers needed: two, a couple; please NO singles
    Duration needed: at least three weeks
    Not available: Jul 14-22

    We need help with gardening and general maintenance around the house.
    The activities include mowing, hoeing, shaping hedges, trimming vines, simple fixing, painting, etc.

    This is the help we would appreciate:
    - regular simple tasks such as sweeping, raking, weeding, etc.
    - regularly mowing the lawn (in spring/autumn)
    - regularly watering manually with the hose (in summer)
    - hoeing/weeding around flowers, olive trees, and fruit trees
    - removing withered flowers
    - trimming roses, hedges and palm trees
    - planting new flowers
    - painting wood/metal/walls
    - moving materials and other large scraps in our storage
    - pool cleaning (in summer)
    - harvesting olive trees (in November)
    - ...

    Previous experience in gardening and general maintenance is welcome, but you can do everything with our assistance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Croatian, English, German, (Italian)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a private loft for two WorkAwayers. You have your own access to the kitchen and bathroom, bedroom, and separate entrance, so it's basically as if you live on your own (see the photos below).
    We can offer accommodation only, and since you have your own kitchen, it's available for making your own meals.

    The apartment has drinkable tap water and wireless internet; heating during cold months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your free time can be spent in our garden, on our nearest beach, in the old town center, or on trips!

    We are a busy family and don't like to socialize much outside of work, so the rest of your time in the day can be spent freely and on your own.
    Of course, if you have any questions, feel free to ask them at any time, as we are open to sharing suggestions!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    up to 15 hours a week

WorkAwayers - thank you Young & Lee for painting our fence!
WorkAwayers - thank you Jen & Steve for your immense garden help!
View of the Poreč old town center, the top location for tourists
View of the town center on our nearest beach.
Our garden
Our garden
Kitchen and dining in your private apartment
Bathroom in your private apartment
Kitchen in your private apartment
Bedroom in your private apartment
House/garden entrance.












Host ref number: 929881584348