Help with some DIY and garden projects at my seaside home in Pays Bigouden, France

Country

France

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Work is varied and relaxed. I can offer a lovely work environment and good food.

    I am a 50 year old woman who was born in Pays Bigouden and lived abroad for years. I am doing some home renovating projects and lots of gardening and could really do with some help.

    I have travelled extensively in my life. First working my way around the world with a rucksack on my back and then visiting most of the world on many long holidays. I did grape picking, worked on different projects from Japan to North of Norway, backpacked from Istanbul around the world for a year. I have never lost the travel bug which is why I have ended up living my dream in my native place: Pays Bigouden in Finistère.

    I have just heard about Workaway through a friend in Apulia. I am sure we will Iove the experience since I did a lot of flat shares couch surfing etc. I am looking forward to meeting you too. I am still friends with many of my previous flatmates which is wonderful.

    I have a 6 y old boy, Pierre and a Golden Retriever, Mila.

    We have a relaxing peaceful environment by the seaside 200m in the charming village of Lesconil.

    I live off the land as much as possible. I enjoy a decent glass of wine with a nice meal and good conversation and company. I am a reasonable cook and I love entertaining. I cook meat for the animals so I’m not funny about having meat in the house.

    The area We live in is beautiful. Within cycling distance or a 1minute walk to the harbor. I have 2 bikes for your use.

    Our house is typical. I welcome help with renovating. I also have an old building next to it which needs some renovation to be done.
    On top of it, I can offer Workaway guests a place in Paris when they need.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have a good social life here and have friends but friends from different countries too. You would be welcome to join me in socialising. I like to practice English we could practice together if you want to exchange with French.

    Pays Bigouden has so much to offer. We have endless celebrations here, the food is amazing and so fresh.

    The local towns are full of history and culture. Most events are free and fun.

    The beaches are here. We live by the sea all year long with bath, walk etc.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for Workawayers to help me with some of my DIY and garden projects. There are many chores that I need help with as it is too much for me alone. There is general renovating, painting, rendering, cutting grass, clearing stones, demolishing a wall, cutting plants and attaching to a fence, some woodwork help, and advice would be great. I would welcome someone (or two) who is quite strong, motivated and is prepared to give me 5 hours help a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Breton: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either a cute clean caravan for two (in the warm weather from April to October if needed) or a separate bedroom and bathroom on site.

    I also have studios in Paris so you can also continue helping out there doing a bit of painting and help.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is touristy. Coasts, islands to see. The information center has tons of information.

    The public transportation is quite good locally.
    Quimper is 30mn away by local public bus.
    Pont-l’Abbé is also of interest 15mn away.

    I also have 2 bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours.day 5 days.week

Host ref number: 927954467942