Come and stay in Takamatsu city, gateway to Shikoku region, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 677 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three, me a Japanese mother, and two boys, 11 and 13, born in New Zealand. We live in the hidden gem that is Takamatsu city in the north of Shikoku Island. We love to welcome travellers visiting from abroad, to show small city lifestyle, with a mixture of our Kiwi lifestyle blended in! As a single mother I would like help around the house as well as spending some quality (and fun) time with the children speaking in English.

    Come and see the real beauty of Japan in the Shikoku area. I can guarantee that you will love the quiet and relaxed lifestyle here, and some fun time with an international family!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is Setouchi Art Festival going on in the area, and there are so many beautiful islands to visit.

    Shikoku Island is a must-see, undiscovered area!

  • Help

    Help

    While the help required depends on what there is that needs to be done at the time in the house, the biggest two aspects of our requirement is housework and quality time with the children speaking in English.

    I would like someone who is independent and mature enough to take initiative to get on jobs without too much instruction.

    The house work ranges from usual house chores such as cooking, doing dishes, vacuuming, laundry to name a few among all housework. A handy person is always very welcome too. I am not a good cook, so a willing chef is always welcome to accept the challenge of my two fussy eaters!

    Occasionally I would like your help with some paperwork and computer work too. Also spending sometime with my English class students may be part of your job on some days.

    As for the quality time with the boys, I would like you to be part of the family rather than a guest and be involved in kids lives. This means that I want you to show them the discipline of hard work as well as good fun time with them. They are getting into the age when they are loaded with homework etc from school. So I would like your help getting them down to their schoolwork (time management), and also have some fun time with them in their spare time - perhaps fishing or going for a walk etc. Maintaining their English is very very important to us, and I would be thrilled if you could take an initiative to share your knowledge and time with the boys. *Hint: while their mother does not really approve of them, the boys love manga and inevitable computer/internet games!

    As for the length of time to stay, we would like 3-6 days at a time. This is to keep the balance of our "family" time and also "exposure to international culture" time with you. I hope you understand. Exception is when we have some large project around the house and/or I have some business trip to take.

    The work should not take more than 5 hours a day. I would like you to enjoy the area while you are staying with us.

    Final word is that at the end of the day, I am a single mother with two boys working full time, handling millions of things all at the same time. I would like all help I can get, rather than needing to supervise/instruct what needs to be done. I would be most grateful to see your initiative to take up any chores and spending some fun time with the boys. In return, I hope we can offer you a true "family" experience whilst staying with us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In this rather spacious apartment, you will have your own room with a small view of the Setouchi sea. Our apt is located on the 10th floor and very peaceful. You share bathroom/kitchen with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our apartment is located 5 min. walk from JR train station as well as Takamatsu port. The apartment is very visible from all over on the water front, so you should be able to find your way no problem. Please check Setouchi Art Festival Website, as well as Takamatsu tour destinations. A plenty to do, and I am happy to give you pointers once you arrive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs max

Kids enjoying their homework... or not!











Host ref number: 927833725828