Help Austrian family near Graz around the house and in the garden

Country

Austria

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a patchwork family.
    And we is: Hannes (49) and Burgi (47) with our little daughter Lisa (14) still living at home as well as Jen (26) who is travelling at the moment and Julia (19) who lives in the city and studies Medical Engineering.

    We're trying our best to live an organic, low-waste, concsious. In general we are no vegetarians but it's not a problem to serve vegeterian or even vegan food as Burgi eats this way most of the time. If you prefer meat it's not a problem at all.

    We have a comfortable house on the outskirts of Graz, which you can easily reach by bus and train within 15 minutes.

    We are looking for young, inspiring people to help around the house and garden and easy building chores as we're constantly improving our home. Also we would like to welcome new cultures into our home to get in touch with new cuisines and languages.

    A little more information about us:
    Hannes is selfemployed and works from home but has a lot of appointments - so he's mostly out of the house during the week.

    Burgi has her office at home but also two offices in other cities which she regularly visits. She works as a alternative therapist and coach.

    Lisa is in highschool right now but changes subjects in september. She will be doing an agricultural boarding school and only come home on the weekends. She loves horses and goes for riding lessons several times a week. You can surely accompany her and meet the farmers and maybe even get the chance to help out around there if you please.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    It would be amazing if you can help Burgi keeping the house and garden clean, preparing meals for the family and practice english (or maybe even teach a new language?)

    Hannes is always happy if he has a helping hand with one of his building project. This year we want to build a new garden shed, the garage needs to be repainted and the basement needs renovation.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a big room in the basement where you'll have your peace and quiet during your time off and your own bathroom on the groundfloor which is also being used as a guest bathroom so please keep it presentable.
    We have a big garden, a hammock and pool during summer which you can use as often as you please.

    We live in the suburbs of Graz, so it's very quiet and scenic. You can go for easy walks or even hikes in the nearby area. You can also use one of our bikes if you please.

    Hours will be very flexible and we'd like to ask you to be flexible as well. It's surely not too much work and we'll make sure you have plenty of free time to explore the surroundings and Graz. Just be open with us about your plans and we can work out a schedule that makes everyone happy!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So far we have not had any experiences as workaway hosts, but our daughter Jen has been workawaying around Europe and told us how to be good hosts :)
    If you want to, we'd love to show you the best of austrian cuisine and culture. We often have friends over especially during summer for BBQ parties or coffee. You're always invited to join in of course.

    It's a 10 min bike ride to the trainstation (you may use one of ours) from where the train leaves every hour to Graz. (The ticket also includes the public transport in the city) If we go to the city by car, it's not a problem to drop you off on the way.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 927614963549