Share your photo and video editing sills in central Helsinki, Finland

  • Favourited 508 times
  • Last activity: 24 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi everyone :)
    I’m Anna, a truth seeker, that had explored the world intensly all my life. I am trying to settle in Finland right now, after being mostly on the road for two decades.

    I went to Drama School both in LA and London in my early twenties, and spent a few good years touring different countries with different theatre companies, whilst having a base in London.

    I am also a photographer, having done some travel photography, but what I was really passionate about, was documenting crises regions and social problems around third world countries. So I was sent to Haiti for rebuilding projects, Nepal to document orphanages around the country, India to document abandoned widows, run away kids, human trafficing, etc. etc. Always wanted to help people in any way I could. As well as animals. Started a few street dog projects along the way in India too… I have a 17 year old son, who had visited 37 different coyntries by the age of 13 :) He speaks 3 languages fluently, and together we have traveled and couchsurfed on 6 different continents and hosted an equal amount at home (wherever that had been at times).

    Fifteen years ago I discovered new age spirituality, and very soon my journey to discover and heal myself took a life of its own, and I was taken first to India and Nepal for many years and then all over the world. I was teaching yoga, reiki and meditation in different retreats (and had a school in India for six years). I also organised buddhist pilgrim trips many times, and together we always spent several days with Dalai Lama, when he was teaching the tibetans in different monasteries.. I also did healings and counceling, published guided meditation CD’s and one book. In 2017 I was shown what's behind all the new age spirituality, had an earth shaking supernatural experience and two months after having received the title "ambassador of yoga" from the president of Yoga Alliance international, I stopped everything and walked away from it all. That didn’t make me want to seek, on the contrary, having been fooled like millions of others on this field, I kept going with even more passion!!

    So all of a sudden there was no big reason to be on the road anymore, and I told myself we need to finally settle down, and Onni needs to go to School like everyone else, and not be homeschooled on bus stations, trains, beaches, etc… It hasn't really happened yet, although getting there slowly, hahaha. Since that decision, me and Onni, have still backpacked through South-America for five months, through Turkey all the way to the Mt. Ararat, where we found Noah's Ark, and just adventured though Middle East and island hopped on the Mediterranean Sea..

    I joined workaway in the spring of 2019, and during the first year hosted more than 30 people. After that a bit less, because Finland closed it’s borders due to covid, but was quick to find out, what the loopholes were, and with the right documents managed to get every volunteer into Finland that was willing to come… During 2019-2022 we had a house in the country side that needed a lot of work and even proper building. All the workawayers loved being hosted by us - after all we were more travellers than host ourselves and besides hard work, could offer amazing experiences, do lots of different things with the volunteers and take them around the country to really get to know it and its culture. As a host I am very fair, and everyone has praised my food! I see volunteers as new friends, rather than just workers, and I believe we can all learn valuable things from each other!! Also, when I am greatful, I really show it!

    Due to many reasons, we had to give up the house on the country side in August 2022 and move back to Helsinki. So there is no need for renovation help at the moment, but if the right person with great skills of photoshopping and video editing comes along, you’d be super welcome!!! There is so much raw material that I’ve shot from all over the world, that I haven’t had time to tackle yet, so help would be welcomed!! If you have zero experience in editing photos, videos, building websites nor blogs, this is not for you. We do need to find a bigger home though, so later there might be need for renovation help again.

    Also, my family owns an island on the west coast of Finland, and once we went there with some long term workaways to help out my parents with landscaping, as well as exploring the nearby UNESCO heritage centre, doing a lot of sauna and swimming and exploring the archipelago on a small boat. That situation might be a possibility again, depending on their situation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you would see many sides of Finland :) And you would most defienetly become part of the family, not just a volunteer!! I am very greatful for proper help, and really really want you to enjoy your stay! So you would be taken to cool saunas, beaches, underground sights that you wouldn’t find from anywhere else. I would shower you with different tips of what you could do on your days off. For some volunteers I have lend my car to, but in general whatever you would need, I would try to arrange it for you.
    My home is in the trendiest part of the city and well, the country, and everything from there is within a walking distance - well, not the airport, but that is actually outside of the city. From Helsinki, you could easily visit Estonia or Sweden on a ferry for a day. I have great tips how to get cheapest tickets.
    I’m all about sharing with people that I cross paths with in life, and everyone so far has greatly enjoyed their time with us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Right now I am looking for someone with experience in
    - photo editing
    - video editing
    - building a website
    - building a blog

    Later when I find a larger home, I would be thrilled to get some help again in renovation!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm always interested in learning new languages, so lets see what we can come up with depending on the languages that you speak :)

  • Accommodation


    Most likely shared room, if there would be other volunteers at the same time! At times, we have been able to offer a private room too, but tbh most have preferred shared with others..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I will defienetly introduce you to a Finnish sauna!! And either give you tons of tips or personally take you to see the best Helsinki has to offer. There are daily ferries to Tallinn (Estonia) and Stockholm (Sweden), which you could visit while here. The are national parks for hiking and camping, I've taken people to, and from Helsinki, its very convenient to see any part of the country, as all trains and buses go from there.
    From my house pretty much everything worth seeing in Helsinki is within a walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a high speed internet and semi private workspace available

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have hosted a workawayer with two dogs before. More welcome :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 926769422763

Feedback (30)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Come help out at our small family farm on the Pyhämaa archipelago, Finland
Help with carpenter-work in our home in Tokrajärvi, Finland