Help with my garden and be surrounded by the beautiful nature near Roquebrun, France

Country

France

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/02/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small cottage in a small hamlet and I am a massage therapist. I also run a property business locally. I love being in the countryside surrounded by the fabulous nature here. I love music of most sorts, dancing and swimming in the river here. I live with my partner Jean and he also has a property not far from me. We are sometimes split between the 2 venues.
    The Hamlet has its own beach and we have the river running through which is great for swimming kayaking, fishing. It is a winemaking hamlet so we are surrounded by vineyards everywhere you look. The nearest village is Roquebrun which can be reached easily on a bike or by car or walking if you have time. there are bars and restaurants, post office, tobacconist and we have local fetes and dancing on in the summer months.
    We are in the National park so it is very beautiful. Ideal if you like walking, cycling and nature.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is abundant with wine and history. The area is quite dry so plants are more Mediterranean here. Come and see how typical french wine villages operate, enjoying the french agriculture. If you want to practice a language too - we speak English and french sometimes if I'm working with clients or with my neighbors. If you have an interest in wine we can arrange for you to go on a tour and tasting with our neighbor Sophie and some other wineries in the area. We have lovely dry stone walls and terraces dating back to the Romans. The villages are medieval and very interesting.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with setting up our garden for summer where I'll be working from sometimes. This will include making a path with the river stones, being creative if you like. Finishing off a dry toilet on the land - we just need a floor and roof on it and this may be done as a team. Helping construct a platform for massage work, general gardening maintenance. So some gardening but a bit of construction work too. The land is approx 1300 sq mtrs and we probably wont do all of it so I just need to get it prepared to work, eat, play and sleep on. I need someone also to do some painting in the house. Our small living room and some touching up of woodwork.
    A slightly bigger job is tiling a small terrace where we eat with some stone tiles. That would need someone who knows tiling and may have to be something we do separately.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a double bedroom with private bathroom in my cottage. We have wifi but no TV. Your bedroom is on the first floor on its own except for my massage room which is next door to the bedroom. The house is small with living room and kitchen but in summer we are outside a lot. We also spend time on the land in the evening ( which is a 2 min walk from the house) with a bbq and fire pit. You may have to help yourself to breakfast and lunch which will be provided for you ( depending on how busy I am) and we will usually cook in the evening. If we go out in the evening you are welcome to come with us and we will pay for your meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is a problem here as we don't have many buses and taxis are very expensive. We do have bikes so if you like cycling you are welcome to use a bike to get into the village which is 5km away.. We may be able to sort out transport for you. In Roquebrun you can go Kayaking and on electric scooter bikes through the mountains if you like. We will pay for you to take the wine tour with Sophie. There are some fabulous Gorges just down the road to visit. Museums in Olargues. There is a n old railway which has been turned into a cycle track so you can cycle for miles along it on fairly flat road. The beach is approx 45 minutes away if you fancied a day at the beach. You can walk in any direction form the house for miles and miles and miles... go swimming in the river... star gazing....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 921111241925