Help needed to look after the house, chickens, pets and garden stone works

Country

Spain

Favourited 168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello friends

    We are Jose and Sara and living in a small stone house, which is situated on a hill surrounded by ancient terraces with lot of active, traditional farming around. Jose is a mountain guide in his own travel company, doing responsible tourism in these mountains. Sara right now is doing a mountaineering course Monday to Friday. But her big dream is to live completely independent growing all the food in her own garden. We do all ecological in our garden and we grow our own seeds from last year harvest. We set as our direction to live self-sufficient in harmony with nature, getting energy from our solar panels and water from the spring. We live with our 2 cats, 8 chickens and our dog Bobby. We also started 2017 a time bank in our valley and we love to tell you about our project. In our free time we do music, cook nice things, sara makes bread, Jose goes climbing or mountain biking. We do play a bit of guitar and ukelele, so musicians more than welcome as well.

    Because we are not staying right now in all week in our house we are looking for a person or a couple to care for our house, our animals (give them food, cleaning the chickens place, walk the dog) and watering the garden. We are searching for responsible people who are able to work independently complete the tasks given (no matter much when and how), Basically, you decide to work mornings or afternoons) and to enjoy the silence in the nature. . Town is 5 minutes away from the house, with street vegetable amrkt twice a week and 2 bakeries, and several bars and restaurans. There is also a bus service daily to the beautiful coastal town of Villajoyosa. Also you need to know that this is a rural house, off grid: We live with solar energy so after a few cloudy days we might not have much energy, ( dont worry shower runs with gas ) if you want to heaten up the house, you are expected to collect and chop your own wood ( again dont get put off, this is the Mediterranean and the house and rooms are very comfortable and very well insulated) .

    We are friendly, empathic and easy going couple. Being mountain leaders we are very used to be with people, so you are not going to find a monster in us !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learn about local culture, language, food and agriculture, local history.
    learn about time bank project (Banco de Tiempo Alcantara)
    learn about gardening
    spanish language (Castellano y valenciano)

  • Help

    Help

    Animal Care
    We have 2 cats, 8 chickens and 1 dog, take care of them. Food, Maintenance, walking the dog.

    Gardening & Farming
    you help us growing our own vegetables and caring for our trees and plants, watering and weeding

    Building
    -we also have in mind to build a wooden house for future volunteers and visitors, so carpenters are heartly welcome! At the present time, reconstructing green house and stone walls in the garden.

    General Maintenance
    Rebuilding outside stone walls and stairs
    help in the house
    choping wood

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In a beautiful stone house in the heart of the mountains of Aitana. You have your own cozy room in our house with a little wood burner and two beds; bathroom, living room and kitchen we share. and you will enjoy the hot shower! We eat mostly vegetarian here and organic, but we are no talibans, we also enjoying other types of food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is in the mountains but only 20 minutes drive away from the coast, La Villajoyosa. It is connected with public bus monday-friday. We live in an outdoor area with lots of walking and climbing in the enchanting surrounding of Sierra Aitana with summits above 1000m. The house is situated outside the village of Sella in the middle of the ancient green orchard looking down to the river. We have a 2 bycicles here for you to use any time. On your free day Jose can take you climbing or walking or doing a Viaf errata. We are good fun, love to be outside, doing jam sessions and artistic games, like creating furniture with recycled things.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 917671857436