Help us and stay in the newly renovated house for volunteers in Central Brittany, France



Favourited 95 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    November 2019 > Hello everybody, the guest house is renovated, yeah !!! Big up to us and to you !!
    There are still a lot of work to accomplish on our property, if you feel like helping us, you could stay in your own little house. We hope to welcome you very soon.
    Julie and Antoine

    Hello Workawayers.
    We are Antoine and Julie, having moved a lot, we put our bags in Central Brittany, a land of legends, where we can live four seasons in a day. We were seduced by the potential offered by a group of ruined farm buildings and 2,4 acres of abandoned field. We did not ask for more! A long-term project, an everyday life in the countryside, a kitchen garden, sheeps, chickens, rabbits, a cat, a dog, horizontal hives... Since 2014, all that takes shape, we do our best to recreate a naturally welcoming environment for the diversity of fauna and flora, for us... and why not for you too, dear workawayers !
    We would be ready to welcome you for a stay of two or three weeks. You will stay in your own little house that we just finished to renovate. Activities abound here, under the sun or in the rain. We will establish together a program according to the season, our needs and your desires (gardening, animal care, building work, logging, cooking, lactofermentation, soap making...). In general, we work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, but no pressure, the schedule also concerns free time. We will be happy to show you our favorite spots and some remarkable sites. Life here is very quiet, however there is always an interesting event in the area: concert, fest-noz, exhibition, competition of Breton balls, excursion in nature... We live in a hamlet, two kilometers away from a restaurant, a bar/local shop, the Museum of Resistance in Argoat, a painting workshop, a pond specialized in fly fishing. We can lend you bicycles to discover the surroundings. Quintin is the nearest town (15km), it is a small city of character with a castle, a small picturesque town center, an associative cinema, a swimming pool, a peasant market...
    See you soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Central Brittany is full of surprises. Our neighbours are farmers, around our house there are corns fields and cows, a little further away there are enchanted forests and lakes, then small picturesque towns, further away there is the ocean with sandy beaches. Have a look on google map, our village is called Saint-Connan.

  • Help


    We live in what used to be a farm in the years 1900, most of the buildings are destroyed, we are reconstructing them day after day. Today, our house and the guest house are renovated, and barns will be renovated in the future. We are not farmers, but we grow our vegetables, our 4 hens give us eggs, our 4 sheeps and 2 rabbits mow the lawn. We try our best to do things by ourselves, and with workawayers is funnier.
    We could use some help for renovations (building work, painting, laying roof sheet, cleaning old barns...). We could cook the vegetables and make food cans and lactofermented jars for winter, we could weed the garden, we could make soaps, we could clean the chicken coop, cut wood for the stove, plant trees...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The Guest house is comfy. Downstairs there is the living room with a wood stove, a fully equiped kitchen, a bathroom, toilets, a washing machine. Upstairs, there are two rooms with 2 single beds in each, witch can be linked if necessary. Or you could choose to sleep under the willow tree, in a tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    PS : We will eat together for lunch, and we will adapt the meals according to your diet, if you have a special one. Julie doesn’t eat sugar and dairy products, but Antoine does and we eat meat/fish products occasionally at lunch time. For dinner, you will cook for yourself in the guest house, not because we are rude, but because we are a foster familly and the kid we foster actually needs his routine.
    PS 2 : We do not smoke, if you smoke it will be only outside (even in the guest house).
    PS 3 : Karoutcho the cat and Inouk the dog sleep inside our house, we hope you are not allergic.
    PS 4 : Please, respect the guest house and leave it as clean as it was when you arrived (toilet bowl and shower siphon included ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 914421996552