Come and help on my homestead in the desert near Mesa Verde National Park, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 78 times
  • Last activity: 20 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    My name is Evan and I live on my 4 acre homestead in Cortez, CO. I live here with my 2 cats, Hunter and Calle and currently 13 chickens. There is a tiny house that is being rented out as well. I'm from Virginia and had intentions of being a digital nomad for a while but when I reached this area a couple years ago I ended up staying at a camp and then house sitting before getting my own place. I previously worked in the corporate world for a decade and slowly realized the dissatisfaction with the way my life was going. About 10 years ago I started on a journey and committed myself to healing and self improvement. I transitioned into working as a massage therapist for some time and now I'm working in the table tennis industry and work for my friend's farm. When I'm not doing that and playing ping pong I'm focused on cultivating this land, becoming more self sustainable and learning as many skills as possible. Some other interests are disc golf, golf, yoga, gardening and hiking. Always down for a deep philosophical conversation but stay balanced and grounded. I don't keep up with mainstream media and like small town living. I would say I can be more introverted but am very interested in community and have met a lot of interesting people around here. I'm interested in meeting and working with other free thinking individuals. The Four Corners area is sort of a hidden gem and I feel blessed to call the high desert home. I appreciate the beauty of landscape and the nature that abounds this area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mesa Verde National Park is 15 minutes away and there are many historical native dwelling sites around the area. I played competitive table tennis and coached for a few years. There are disc golf baskets setup. I have bow and arrows and an archery bag for target practice. So I'm happy to teach someone these skills. I work for a farm and have a bunch of market gardener friends so I've learned basic gardening skills and grow a pretty big garden. I also do some canning and fermenting of the vegetables grown here. Although I don't practice massage outside of trading with friends I could teach the basics of that if there is interest.

  • Help


    Could host someone who can fix the shower in the camper. Section of fencing needs to be finished. Interested in setting up irrigation in the garden.

    Could use help with weeding during spring/summer. There is a junk pile that was dumped here years ago that needs cleaning up. Possibly help with harvesting and preserving vegetables in the garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I have a camper trailer that has sewage/electric/water hookups. It is fully functional outside of having a working shower. Hookups could be used for someone who has their own rig. There is a garage with insulation which has couches. I have a canvas yurt that can be setup. Also tent camping down by the stream would be an option as well and I have an extra tent. For showers one could use the main house shower or the stream has a couple of pool areas depending on how rustic you want to get. I'm happy to provide food or money to purchase food and possibly share meals. I'm not vegetarian or vegan but could accommodate those that are.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is up on a hill and has great views of Mesa Verde, the La Plata Mountains and the Sleeping Ute Mountain. There is an irrigation stream on the property with a natural pool area if you want to take a dip. It's a nice luxury in the desert. It's very peaceful surrounded by sheep and cattle farms along with other small hobby farms. So it feels like the country yet is a 5 minute drive into Cortez and 10 minute drive to the small town of Dolores. You can see the milky way on clear nights. I have a bike that is available for use. Along with Mesa Verde there are many other historical native sites around this area including the Canyons of the Ancients trail. Cortez is a small town but has a nice park with disc golf course, recreation center, and there are some good restaurants and breweries. A championship level golf course is 5 minutes away as well. Dolores is a pretty little town up in the mountains that has parks, a brewery and cidery. Mancos is 20 minutes away and similarly has fun places to visit. Phils World is a top mountain bike trail destination just outside of town. Durango is an hour away if you want to do some shopping or hiking among other things. Telluride and Moab are within 2 hours. Tons of hiking trails around. There are some great farmers markets around the area if you like local organic food. With this being Colorado there are plenty of dispensaries for those that are 420 inclined.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The wifi is strong.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Can accommodate smaller RV's/5th wheels/Campervans. Have electric, water, sewage hookups.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are a possibility although they would need to be friendly with my cats and chickens. Property is not fully fenced.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 913768465847

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Land restoration and fire ecology at a Buddhist center in the beautiful coastal hills of Northern California, USA
Searching for help in Charlotte, North Carolina, USA