Help us to restore and maintain a house in Lukovo Šugarje, Croatia



Favourited 409 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    In my late 20s, I have decided to divorce from my comfortable city life and moved into semi-wilderness to embark on the journey towards slowly achieving self-sufficiency. In this way I wanted to contribute to the shift away from this deadly drive towards endless growth and consumerism, and in turn rather support some slower, simpler, more meaningful forms of life inspired by nature.

    With my friendly dog Sola, I have settled down in a house built by my grand-grand father at the foot of stunning Croatian mountain Velebit. It fitted into my picture to be reasonably secluded, with some land to grow organic food. My boyfriend joined me last spring, and now us three are trying to build a new life here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help


    We run a relatively small household on a really low budget, so we have to be selective. At the moment, we are preparing the house to be able to rent it in summer for some basic income. We are thus primarily interested in somebody with good experience in masonry/carpentry/stonework/painting. We should be done with all the work around the 1st of May, so this is the time until when we are able to host.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You would be sleeping in a guestroom, so you would have your own space and some privacy. All other facilities are shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you have a lot of hiking possibilities. If you come during summer, there is also a very nice beach for you to enjoy. During the weekend, the bus will easily take you to a lovely city of Zadar. We would be happy to show you around and/or give advice what to do while staying in Croatia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected


Host ref number: 911197755928