Come homesteading in beautiful Carbasse, France

Country

France

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Clive and Katie are renovating an old stone house in deepest Aveyron, near the beautiful Lot Valley - an old-fashioned, remote part of the south of France. Or at least, Clive is usually working on the house, while Katie is in the no-dig permaculture garden, eating luscious strawberries. There are always new and interesting projects to work on - one day Clive will even build the perfect solar dryer Katie wants for drying the strawberries, cherries, tomatoes and herbs. It's a truly beautiful sunny spot, with fantastic views, especially at sunset.

    Clive et Katie sont en train de rénover une vieille maison en Aveyron - un région peu fréquentée dans le sud de la France. Au moins, d'habitude, Clive travaille sur la maison, tandis que Katie est dans le potager (no-dig, permaculture), mangeant les fraises juteuses. Il y a toujours de nouveaux projets interessantes á faire - un jour, Clive va créer le séchoir solaire parfait que Katie veut pour sécher des fraises, des cerises, des tomates et des herbes. C'est vraiment un trés bel endroit , avec des vues spectaculaires, surtout au coucher du soleil.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors will learn skills and crafts including woodworking, 'homesteading' and permaculture. This is also a good opportunity to experience life in rural France - the cows wear bells here, and we're deeply involved in the local farming community. There'll be opportunities to visit neighbours, local markets and bars, and to swim in the river. We're in the Lot valley, and the nearest village (un des plus belle villages!) is very beautiful, and normally packed with pilgrims walking the Compostella trail.

    We like to speak and practice our French - Clive's French is very good, and Katie is learning quickly, and we both also speak some Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We've got a few different projects on the go, so there'll be some choice as to what you get involved with, according to skills, the weather and personal preference. But mainly this year we're looking for help with opening the holiday houses and their gardens that Katie manages, as she has problems with her shoulders and is finding the heavier jobs difficult. So the help will include mowing, sweeping leaves, pruning and putting out garden furniture in three different beautiful gardens locally. With the opportunity of swims in the pools in between jobs. We may also decide to improve the camping area for our guests, by burying services. And then there is always work in our no-dig garden - harvesting fruit or making jam, as and when someone wants to stay longer. Eventually, we'd like to build a wood workshop - we're dreaming of a wooden cabin, with a compost loo behind, but that is probably for another year.

    We're looking for a responsible single person or a couple, able to work alone, with some practical skills / confidence, who enjoys physical work in a lovely (but rather isolated) outdoor environment.

    Nous avons des projets differentes en cours, et donc, il y aura un choix de quoi faire, en fonction des compétences, du temps et des preférences. Mais cette année nous recherchons principalement de l'aide avec l'ouverture des maisons de vacances et de leurs jardins où Katie est la gardienne, parce qu'elle a des problèmes d'épaules, et trouve le gros travail difficile. Les travaux comprendront donc la tont de la pelouse, le balayage des feuilles mortes, la taille des arbustes et la mise en place du mobilier de jardin. Est on peut nager dans la piscine entre les travaux! Nous pouvons également décider de améliorer le camping pour nos invitées, en enterrant les services. Et puis il y a toujours du travaille dans le potager - ramasser des fruits ou faire cuire de la confiture, si et quand quelqu'un veut rester plus longtemps. Finalement, nous aimerions construire un atelier de menuiserie - nous rêvons d'une cabane en bois, avec une toilette seche derriere.

    Nous recherchons une personne responable, ou un couple, capable de travailler seule, avec des compétences practicable et confiance, qui aime le travail physiquecal au dehors, dans un bel environnement (mais u peu isolé), et avec de l'énergie pour brouiller des charges de bois autour de l'endroit.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Clive parle le français très bien, mais Katie a des problèmes avec la langue, et aimerais pratiquer davantage.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Beautiful private camp ground, with view down the valley, with a big trailer tent set up with a camp kitchen and fridge. Shared compost toilet and hot shower in the cellar nearby. There is only one bed, a narrow double, so it is only suitable for a single person, or a thin couple... Some shared meals - barbecues etc, some food provided (lots of lovely organic seasonal fruit and vegetables in the garden).

    You could also park a small camper next to the trailer tent, if that suited.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're up a gravel track, about 5 kilometres from the nearest town, so it is a bit isolated. Visitors would be able to join us on our local activities and trips out. But if visitors wish to explore more, they'll need their own transport . It's a lovely rural area, with lots of walks, and it's teaming with wildlife - insects, flowers, lizards - and a fox which stole Clive's boot last night! Bicycles are available to borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate a van next to the tent (but we'd have to move our campervan first!) The road up is rough gravel, but my little car is OK with it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 911115625469