Help on our sustainable little farm in SouthWest France.

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 1168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    73  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2261

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear Workawayer,
    - Before all, to avoid any average experience, we prefer to tell you we need motivated people who are willing to commit in our way of life. We mainly work with living beings such as animals, plants, involving working outside. The work itself is usually not that hard but can be tedious and repetitive according to the season (shoveling menure, planting, fruit-picking)
    We’ll give priority to people sharing similar interests and projects about natural food-producing, being self-sufficient, gardenning…)
    - We can't greet persons under 18 years, for responsibility matter.


    Welcome home :) ,

    We are :
    Gaelle (35) and Cedric(41),
    Serge(68), Gaelle's father "the baker",
    And Gaby (43) and Xavier (45), our friends who have just moved to live with us at the place.


    We live in small village of 600 inhabitants, close to DAX in the Southwest of France, in department called "Les Landes".
    It's 30min driving from the sea, 1 hour from Basque country and Pyrenees mountains. There are some bicycle ways around and thousands of pathways in the pine-tree forest. We provide bicycles to hike aroind.


    We have built our wooden house alone and we've been living in for 10 years.
    It's a low energy "green" house. We have water from a well (natural and potable), heated with solar panels for the shower. We are off-grid (for electricity) so we match our use with solar production. The house is heated by a rocket-stove mass heater.

    We try to make everything from scratch and enjoy learning new skills and sharing them.
    We have built 7 years ago a straw-bale house for Serge. He is a baker and now retired, and we are lucky to have him with us to cook bread, pizzas and loads of pastry ! He has an old-fashioned wood-fire bake oven you can see on our profile picture.


    We live on a 1.3 hectare land and we are developing things around nature to improve our food and energy autonomy. We collect informations from everywhere and experiment all we can. Sometimes we fail, then we try again, probably the best way to learn.

    - We have chickens who give eggs we eat (we don't eat our chickens !)
    - 10 bee hives
    - 2 horses (world record lawnmowers) : with who we go for trips in the village with the horse cart and one old pony.
    - 6 goats (no milking),
    - 2 lovely dog, very friendly and really a part of our family
    - 1 female nanny rabbit.
    - 2 cats
    We love our animals and can't imagine to eat them one day !

    We have prepared a vegetable garden to produce our own food based on permaculture biodynamic ideas. It's important for us to know what we eat and to keep our soil alive.

    We are vegetarian and will only provide vegetarian food. It means you won't see meat or fishes in your plates at home.
    We respect people's opinion, and our way to change the world is to show you how life can be different, and then everyone is free to make his own choice.

    We're experimenting different recipes of raised beds everywhere on our land, it's a good way to create a fertile soil pretty fast and also thousands different things. It can seem to be a lot of work for some persons but it's such a pleasure to do real things that have a sense that you can be active all day with not too much effort. But we love to take our time too.
    We enjoy talking and have pleasure so share a good drink around a fire or a good meal. We are very interested too in how life can be in your place, how you feel about beings, what are your projects, about your travels. We have made the choice to be steady to take care of our farm and workawayers help us to travelling through their experiences !

    We greet people at home first because it's a great pleasure and then because we do everything by hand and it requires -a lot of hands- !!
    Besides work, that is mostly outside, we ask you to participate in minimum house keeping (dish-washing, tidying...)

    For the work you'll help us to do, we'll offer you food (3 meals a day even on weekends) and accommodation.
    We have a solar powered laundry so you can wash you clothes at home whenever the sun is shining !
    We advice you to take old clothes and strong shoes because some work can be dirty, clay plastering for example.

    We have some bicycles you can use and you can do horse-riding if you're skilled.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you can learn to

    be vegetarian and eat tasty food
    transforming food products (jams, preserves ...)
    do construction and ecological renovation
    learn how to take care of farm animals

    Depending on the season, you also learn:

    Permaculture, producing an environmentally friendly heating system, manage a beehive and many other skills as "missions" of the moment ... :)

  • Help

    Help

    About the work year schedule :

    Spring and summer (at the moment):
    -Clearing the plant garden (weeding, pruning trees)
    -Moving manure
    -Collecting ferns to use as mulch cover
    -lots of planting !
    -Harvesting plants (now strawberries, tilla flowers, honey and much more...)

    Early Autumn : collecting chestnuts, drying, peeling and grinding them, chopping and tidying wood .

    Little by little : finishing little things on our houses : plastering, decorating...It's mostly moneyless projects and as eco friendly as possible.

    And all year :
    Feeding and taking care of animals
    Peeling and making chestnut flour with our bicycle grinder !
    Cleaning the land
    Making lots of preparations depending on the season crops (chestnut cream, picking up tilla flowers, sirup, juice...)
    Finishing thousands of small things in our house - artistic souls welcome !

    And last but not the least : Having fun !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A nice little caravan for 3 is also available or tent for summer if there are more workawayers.

    At home you have access to :
    - bathroom with warm shower
    - compost toilets (that need to be emptied once or twice a times a week, take your turn)
    - washing machine
    - bicycles
    - wifi is available but not reliable, somedays connection is very poor.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest train station is in Dax
    There is no actual bus line from Dax to us (20km), so you can hitch-hike or ask us to come and we'll pick you up there.

    Nearest airport is Biarritz, where you can take a train to Dax (45min)
    Another airport is in Bordeaux where you can take a train to Dax (1h15min)
    Paris to Dax by train takes 5 hours.
    Be careful trains can be very expansive in France. The French train company is called sncf and is often on strike.

    Car-sharing is a cheaper way to reach us. We can help you to get a lift. There's a good and safe french website called blablacar, but many others.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day / 5 1/2 days a week.

Beekeeping , Cedric et Julia
First planting
Plant pumpkins
Picking apples to prepare: compotes, juices, ciders, pies ...
Part of the vegetable garden last Spring, and Serge straw-bale house
Our house
Peasant Bread flour chestnuts (our production)
Taryn and Elena on the leg-powered grinder. Used to make chestnut and rye flour
Gaelle
Cedric - building a stove made of clay, straw and sand.
Beds for 3 in the caravan, a real "palace"
Sarah and Sirocco
Caline the goat
Keef make pizza
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)



















































Host ref number: 9214971844df