Local charity projects and help care for my chihuahua in Palmetto, Florida, USA


United States


Favourited 570 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Hi there! I'm a 29-year-old female living in Palmetto, Florida (near St. Petersburg, Tampa, and Clearwater). I moved from Los Angeles and hosted several WorkAwayers there in the past. I'm originally from Toronto, Canada. I love meditation, yoga (though I'm a beginner), horseback riding, and, OF COURSE, traveling.

    I work as a psychologist and volunteer with many organizations helping those living in poverty and the LGBTQ+ community.

    I'm looking for a cultural exchange with some light cleaning and taking care of my chihuahua as well as company volunteering with low-income kids and families. Currently, I’m also looking for volunteers to help me with social media marketing and hosting events related to yoga, meditation, therapy, and holistic healing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Palmetto, Florida is an awesome place with nearby beaches, wonderful restaurants, and a great community! It is close to Tampa and St. Petersburg, which are fun areas to hang out in. It's far enough to be in a quiet neighborhood and close enough that all the hustle and bustle is only 15-20 minutes away. Only 10 minutes from the beach!

    I am also happy to show you around when I'm not busy at work.

  • Help


    I am looking for WorkAwayers for assistance with volunteering, hosting holistic healing events, and caring for my dog while I'm away.

    I'm currently seeking someone to stay 2-4 weeks.

    I would love for someone to accompany me to volunteer with at-risk youth who are living in poverty. For this, you must be open-minded and enthusiastic about working with children and teenagers! Many of the people we work with identify as LGBTQ+ so you must be accepting of this.

    I also need help with more simple tasks, like taking care of my dog when I'm away (he's a small chihuahua - only 3 lbs and 16 years old), some light cleaning and tidying around the house, and if you speak Spanish, I would love to do language practice.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will share an apartment with me. There is a pool, lounge area, and shopping areas nearby. The beach is about 10 minutes away. It's also a short 10-minute walk to a beautiful pier overlooking the water. You are welcome to eat any of the snacks in the house and cook your own food. During the week I'm usually out from 8 AM - 6 PM so I can only guarantee that I can provide 1 meal (usually dinner). I will also give you some money to go to the grocery store to buy other foods you like for breakfast and lunch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to the beach, shopping, nightlife, etc.!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes, we have stable wifi!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 899676633818