Help on our farm, in the house and garden, between Neumünster and Itzehoe, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    IN THE NICEST MIDDLE OF NOWHERE YOU CAN IMAGINE :)

    We live on a farm in the North of Germany between Baltic Sea and North Sea, between Neumünster and Itzehoe approx. 60 km north of Hamburg. We are a family with three kids (18, 21, 23), who are mostly on their own way already,. Our daughter is studying in Riga, Latvia and the boys are studying in Kiel.

    Back to our place: We run a farm with ponds, lakes at several locations, work on fisheries and hatcheries for fingerlings. People can enjoy fishing and mother nature at our Pond site. Apart from different species of fish we breed Scottish Highland cattle and where ever we are, you will find at least one dog. We have a pony, hens and not just a small garden surrounding our house and the house pond, which is always good for a bath, the warmer the better.
    There is a lot of work in the middle of nowhere and we are happy to have a good team to keep things running and performing during the whole year.

    We have heart about workaway, when our son looked for a job in Dublin and met a workawayer, he registered and got the first job at the next day - brilliant.
    We like to live in the middle of nowhere, we are team workers, humorous, fair-minded, straight and have always time for a joke.

    As we all are convinced, the principle of workaway is a phantastic way to travel and help in a foreign country, it suggests itself to become a host for workaway and open also our house for travelling people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You learn more about the German traditional country life and enjoy typical German food and nature in Schleswig Holstein. Visits in Hamburg, Kiel and Neumünster open doors to museum, cinema, shops, etc

  • Help

    Help

    Help is needed here and there on the farm, in the house and in the garden, depends on the skills of the “workawayer”.
    We are an "open farm" for kids and families, learning to live at a pond site and learn how to catch fish, process and cook it. ... support us :)
    Task examples:

    - help in the kitchen with food preparation, cooking and cleaning and shopping
    - help in the garden with moaning lawn, harvesting fruits and vegetables, storing and keeping, making Juice, jam and
    confiture
    - help with the dogs, cat, pony and hens. Caring for food, cleaning the stables, watering, walk with the dogs and help to
    keep the electric fences functioning for Pony and cattle
    - help to keep the house and garden clean, cleaning windows,
    - help to repair small things
    - cleaning cars, doing some paintings for maintanance
    - help ... surprise :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own room with a double bed and a bathroom next door. Pond for bathing next door

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Logistically you can reach the next village with a bus stop in few minutes, the city Neumünster in 20 minutes, beaches, Kiel, Hamburg, Heide or Denmark in less than an hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 897665113992