Help us to design workshops for secondary school students in Bikaner, India

Country

India

Favourited 0 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/02/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I'm Sorav! I graduated from Jawaharlal Nehru University and I run a Hindi medium sec. school with my parents in Bikaner, Rajasthan. The school is about 30 years old and caters to students from the neighborhood. In my living, I am engaged as a musician (guitar and vocals) and a cyclist (last solo ride of 2500km). I also have a deep interest in trekking and folk cultures of varied regions in India.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Firstly, you will be staying with us in a family set-up, which in itself is a boundless field of learning for all of us.
    Secondly, you will learn how schools function in a small town and day-to-day issues involved in running a school.
    I will also be willing to share my knowledge of music with you. We can learn and explore folk music together. I also run a homestay, so there will be other travelers at times as well with whom you could exchange cultural perspectives.

  • Help

    Help

    Bikaner is a not a big city and the school we run caters to the students in the neighborhood. With the help of travelers, we wish to introduce students to alternate studies and other life skills. This will give them a varied exposure from around the globe, which otherwise will never be possible in a world of pricey education.

    You will be helping us to design workshops for students depending on the interests and skills you wish to share with the students.

    Workshop ideas: media education, internet bullying, music, literature, storytelling etc...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Dorm with bunk beds

    We will provide home-cooked Indian food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My residence and school is situated at a 10min walk from the famous Junagarh fort in Bikaner. My town is also known for its variety of foods, so I can also suggest places to eat at, in case you like exploring food. There are other places of interest, like temples and desert camps, in the outskirts of the city and I can help you plan your trip around these places as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 895255748273