Woodwork and sustainability in a wild place, Aquitaine, France

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 1098 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    63  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    221

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello you! I am Thomas, and i have been living in the Landes countryisde with my two children (and now a third one) for twenty years, surrounded by an 80 hectares forest, and open fields.
    My house has always been opened, and workaway is for me a way to carry on sharing nice work, in a nice place, with nice people!

    It's a well kept old traditionnal farm, 4 kms from the next little village, lost in the forest, very calm, with many little rivers flowing around and wild footpaths to explore.

    We are taking care of some non-commercial activities :

    - A Permaculture Garden : Rised Beds, couple of Greenhouses, and a giant (120m2) Geodesic Greenhouse
    - An English associative pub (The Petticoat) only on Friday evening.

    The main work is about gardening, wood work, and always some building and repairs.

    The target now is sustainibility of the place. Down sizing input, and being able to produce more food all the year!

    Some ex-workawayer have settle around, one is olding a surf camp, another is growing bio vegetable... spreading a nice spirit in this area.

    Fed up with my "poor english" description ?? : have a look to the "feed back" !

    Otherwise, carry on :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First, there will be the location, lost in the pine forest surrounded by wildlife, the daily feeling of sharing a place choosed long ago by someone (I mean long before me!) to live there.

    Then discover how we deal with this now, in the 21 th century, what we choose to do here and there to adapt to the place, making life as nice as possible without destroying the living potential of it all, and as possible, make it grow !

    Of course, there will be technical points in what you will learn here, ideas about permaculture, solar pannels and all this sort of things, but the most important is the people you will meet. We will always try to take two volunteers at the same time at least.

    As I have been running a "Discovery Farm" during years i'm also able to give many information about the area, historic details about this very special french desert now planted with a forest and about the people trying to live there.

    And there's also the people, a bunch of friends around my farm, collected after 25 years spent at the same place. A gipsy stuntman driving a motorcycle in the Wall of Death around Europe, a couple living totally off grid, a baker...

    If you come here, you will also be connected to a recycling second hand shop that I'm taking care of. This charity place gives jobs to 13 people, you can find there all you need (cloths, bicycles, furniture...) for very cheap. As I build this activity 15 years ago, you will be at the good place to learn about how it's works.

    I don't know how to end this....may be this place is a good one, precisely to learn, or to discover something you didn't expected, as I do for a while!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I was used to welcome from 2 to 4 people at the same time, to have an independent and friendly team.

    Right now the task we have to do during the next month are:
    - build a new barn for the new sawmill
    - renovate and expand an old barn to welcome new chickens
    - care about the garden (maintenance, cleaning, ground preparation etc.)
    - plant some fruit tree
    - build a new fence around one of the house
    - renovate an ancient and beautiful house

    Sometimes, a visitor choose himself something to do in the place: save this tree, carrying this wood, repairing this wall, without any push from anyone here, this is very cool. I don't mean I will not give any task, or direction, and most of the time I do, but when someone feel concerned, it's really the best way.

    I'm really harvesting knowledge around permaculture, and will be glad to welcome someone with those kind of competences (how to prepare the ground, what to plant, when, why etc.).

    I now only accept a minimum stay of two weeks , less is not really enough for us (you and I) to really know each other, appreciate the place and the people, or to simply be there !

    Please, think twice before validate a stay, because a great number of person changes their mind at the last moment, and it really doesn't help or even respect the minimum of organisation we need!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The visitors will have they own bed in a shared house with my children (Louise 21, Lucien 22). In the summer we also have a caravan with a 2 to 4 people capacity. We can definitely share meal as we can eat separately sometime.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sorry for this, but our friends cats and dogs are not allowed here, it's not negociable: we're fitted with a large wild life around!

    Fifteen minutes from here, one of my friends runs a little rootsy surf school in a wild place...just to say :)

    Location is between Bayonne and Bordeaux The train station next to here is Morcenx, beach at 20 kms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The path to reach the farm is sandy and narrow, and will be tricky for a wide or heavy vehicule...

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours max :)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








































Host ref number: 894268719677