Help with renovation of Victorian House or longer term help with two children in Clane, Kildare, Ireland




Favourited 413 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a happy international household with two children, a dog and some chickens. We are renovating an old Victorian house and gardens so we can do with all the help we can get! We are especially interested in some help with tiling, cleaners, painters, carpenters, plastering etc who fancy staying a Few weeks or less. But we can also do with gardeners, general help.

    So the primary help we need is doing up the house and gardens. We ask for six hours a day four days a week and we provide all food and accommodation.

    Au pair - From late August (but we can do earlier or later) we will be looking for a new au pair, ideally someone who is coming with their partner, someone with childcare or teaching skills who has a driving licence for four years and a love of children t (this position has a car, private studio and pocket money for the au pair while the partner will help with the gardens and renovation etc). You would need to be able to stay for at least six months. The driver ( we provide the helper with a car and petrol money ) needs to be over 25 and European as that is what our insurance covers. )]]

    Or we have a house in Italy and need help there for one week in early July each year. So lots of options!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We usually all eat together Monday to Thursday evening when we cook. On the other days you can cook in your own kitchen for yourself. We provide you with information on things to do and places to go and drop you off centrally where possible. An aupair is sometimes at the house and has often gone on trips with the helpers and shown them the local sights but if he/she is not there, you can stay in the private studio. You are also welcome to join us on the trips we take with our kids. We also invite you to be independent and meet people yourself and explore. Research what you want to see before you come. Plan your weekends as transport in Ireland can be difficult.

  • Help


    Looking for helpers throughout the year on short term stays. We are renovating a Victorian house and so need volunteers ( food and accommodation in exchange for 24 hours work) to help renovate the house.

    We are looking for help in doing up the the house first and the garden and working on the organic plot.
    Help include - clearing up renovation materials, restoring staircases, scraping paint, painting, planting, mowing lawn, painting fences, weeding, cleaning, carpentry, sanding floors,helping with our chickens and dog.
    - In the garden we would need help with weeding, planting, grass cutting, building fences. We tend to work with you on what jobs you would most like to do although at the moment, you may be working independently as we are both working during the day.
    - We could also do with help with cleaning in the house. Or help with our website/photographs/social media.

    From late Summer We are also looking for a helper for the children (or a couple where one looks after teh children and one a helper) for a longer stay., a minimum of six months.

    We ask for around 6 hours a day 4 days a week. (For the au pair role it works differently with a car, studio,phone etc but the helper for the children role is a long term one - must be six months plus) You then have the other three days off.

    In exchange you get all food and accomodation and we will drop you off locally within reason, if you don't have a bike or car. But we are not a hotel so you will need to be independent but at the same time respectful of our family time and our own work. The house and gardens were abandoned around twenty years ago so there is tons to do. We can also accommodate someone more interested in cleaning, painting, up cycling, cooking etc. We can potentially accommodate all times of the year so drop us a line to see. We are around 1 hour from Dublin by bus, 2km walk/cycle/drive into clane. We can pick you up from Naas if you are coming from the airport or from Clane, anytime after 6pm.We look forward to meeting you!

    . [[For the au pair position you must love children, love outdoors, sports, fun and have a driving licence for four years and be 25 plus as you would need to drive them to school etc. You would ideally be a children's teacher and have a good level of English. And just love children! And that would be longer term. If you come with your partner that’s even better.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Irish, German, Afrikaans

  • Accommodation


    We have two options and it will depend on the season and availability. Iif we don't have an au pair then accommodation is in the private studio (with small kitchen, bathroom, seating area and bedroom) in our garden. Alternatively you will be in the three bed flat which is shared with other helpers. So when you contact us we can let you know which option is available. All are good, have TVs, wifi etc. The flat and studio are heated by wood burning stoves. The flat is cold until heated by the stove so if you are someone who really feels the cold, this may not be the place for you. In summer it is fine.

    We are in Kildare around 2km from Clane, Kildare, Ireland which is around a 40 minutes drive from Dublin. We also provide towels and bedlinen. We all eat the evening meal together Mon to Thursday and we provide you with food for the weekend - so all food is provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus from Clane to Dublin or Sallins train station is only 3 km away. . You can then get the train into Dublin. Things to see in Kildare include Castletown House, the National Stud and Japanese gardens, Donadea forest park.

    From the airport, take the airport bus to Naas and we will pick you up from there post 6pm in the evening.
    From Dublin, take the 120 bus to Clane and we will pick you up from there post 6pm in the evening.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    6 hours a day over 4 days or 5 hours a day over 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 892463317759