Organic farm project in Hillsborough, Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi i'm Varin, 42 and own a small holding in Hillsborough, Northern Ireland. The aim is to start an organic community farm, permaculture project and food coop. We need help to create the project from the ground up. Set on beautiful 3 acres of land, with panoramic views overlooking Northern Ireland and are needing help to establish the framework of the farm, growing beds, planting trees, weeding, cutting grass etc, etc... We have 3 cats and 1 dog on site... <3 and lots of love!! <3 Please bring wellies (long rubber boots) and or hiking boots!! We are registered as a CSA (Community supported agriculture farm, UK)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can hopefully learn some new gardening skills and help us run the health food business day to day and share in the cooking. I would be happy to exchange some language lessons, but lets not get carried away with you or us being fluent by the time you leave... :) The surrounding countryside and landscapes are very beautiful and where we are based is very tranquil and relaxing... Only the weather and animals to distract us...

  • Help

    Help

    We need folk who will be willing to learn and also skilled helpers that may be able to help us with projects on the farm. Building a polytunnel(s), putting in raised beds, digging the fields, putting up fencing, planting trees, planting veg etc... You can be totally green fingered or just willing to put some good effort into digging, weeding and general works. If you have any skills in joinery, carpentry, electrics, gardening or permaculture experience we would love you to help us get moved on more quickly! :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Newly constructed eco timber frame house. There are 3+ bedrooms, 1 bathroom, clean bedding, hot water and all normal luxuries. One main kitchen/living area. The house isnt totally finished inside but we have plenty of heat and light and good organic food prepared always. There will be breakfast, lunch and dinner provided along with a constant supply or teas and coffee... If you can also help with the cooking and house chores that would help everyone as well :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can provide a lift to from the local village which is 2.5 miles away (Hillsborough). Some fantastic pubs to visit in the village and you can learn of the history of Northern Irelands political events that have taken place in this beautiful Georgian setting. There is also a lovely forest park and lake to visit. Public transport will take you easily to Belfast and the South. As mentioned above somewhere, we have 3 cats and 1 dog. Just in case you have any allergies... Bring water proof clothing and foot wear. All other laundry can be washed using our machines or by hand...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 891535322858