Learn Swedish with me as your tutor, enjoy cultural exchange and muck in on our hobby farm in Jämtland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 1360 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A warm, relaxing and friendly house, inhabited by my daughters Kerstin and Harriet, aged 11 and 10, and myself (Pelle) welcomes and invites you to take part in our daily life and help out with a wide range of chores, e.g. wood chopping/cutting, decluttering, painting, snow shovelling, sewing, some child-minding, cooking, tidying up, language tuition, occasional house sitting, tending to our 16 chickens and three cats.

    We live on a farm on an island (circumference: 13 kilometres, population about 150) in the wondrously beautiful countryside of the county of Jämtland, some 600 kilometres north of the Swedish capital Stockholm, the noise and stress of which we left behind about six years ago.

    Our girls are relatively seasoned travellers and proficient speakers of English, and one of the main reasons I am listed here is that I want them to continue developing their understanding of the world far beyond the shores of our little island.

    As regards other things to help with, I entertain some plans to convert one of the farm buildings into an airbnb cottage, but feel a tad hesitant about embarking on a project like that by myself, so perhaps someone here could help(?)


    My job is based in Stockholm, which means that some house- and animal-sitting would also be included in a placement at ours, as I need to be off down there for work from time to time.

    In our area, visitors have plenty of opportunity to pursue their outdoor interests (MTB, hill walking, vertical and horizontal skiing, etc) and it is entirely impossible to avoid nature and its wildlife round our home ;))

    I am a teacher of Swedish as a second language and I'd be most happy to assist anyone keen to learn the language both conversationally and grammatically

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Splendid opportunity for those interested to learn Swedish, through instruction if they wish, and practise conversational Swedish

    The exquisite company of an easy-going trio, only Pelle’s on alternate weeks, when the children are at their mum’s.

    A deeper understanding of life in Swedish society

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help with cooking, vacuuming and cleaning, esp. in winter, would also be greatly appreciated.

    With us, such qualities as willingness to contribute to what needs to be done here and an interest in the things we have to offer carry more weight than, for example, your language background. Generelly speaking, however, native speakers of English (mainly for the benefit of Kerstin and Harriet) or of Italian are particularly welcome as Pelle would be delighted at an opportunity to brush up on his dormant knowledge of conversational uni Italian.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Irish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our place also boasts a comfy sauna in which any weary workawayer is welcome to be revived after a day's work.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located within easy reach (about 15 kilometres) of the town of Östersund, once a year host to one of Sweden’s largest music festivals “Storsjöyran”.

    We are certain that, through honest and clear communication, we can devise an arrangement together with you - perhaps during a premilinary webcam conversation - that will keep all of us happy as Larry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 886194311453