Come and help our family with the garden in Gloucestershire, Royal Forest of Dean, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    108

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on the edge of the beautiful Royal Forest of Dean, in Gloucestershire. We have a small holding with views over the river Severn and towards the Cotswold escarpment. There are 6 of us! My husband Matt, children Louise 17, Zoe 15, Amber 12, Angus 10 and myself Esther. We spend quite a lot of time outside with ducks and cats. We also have 4 and a half acres with a large veg garden and many fruit trees. We love to travel and have all been to India 6 years ago. Music and languages also play a part in family life.

    We have hosted several workaways and have really enjoyed the experience and exchange of cultures. We don't have set hours , instead we would like you to help out with everyday life and to join in with what we're doing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I hope that you will feel encouraged to improve your English, help the older two children with their language, French have an opportunity to play your instrument, if you have one, and freedom to explore the local area by bike or local transport. My husband is self employed as a building tradesman and I teach & practice Pilates.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help picking fruit from fruit trees, chopping wood for winter, clearing the garden for Winter, and continued on going outdoor projects. I would also like help sharing the cooking too. If you have experience using, strimmers, chainsaws, mowers and driving tractors that would be very helpful.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a converted attic with double bed toilet & bath so you can be self contained at the top of the house but we would need access to it on occasion. Meals would be with the family and I hope that you could prepare and cook some of them. If you have your own van/transport there is plenty of space to park.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With time off you could walk or use one of our bikes to explore The Forest of Dean. We live on a main bus route with very good access to other bus routes & trains for exploring further. Gloucester, Bristol, Bath, Cardiff and London have fast easy trains to use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is space for you to park up with electrical hook up, meals and bathing will be in the house

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 885495875962