DIY with our little family on the Kapiti Coast, north of Wellington - 5 Minutes walk to the beach.

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kia ora travellers,

    *also looking for house sitters 26 november - 5th December approximately *

    Welcome to the Kapiti Coast, Wellington.
    We are a young family of four, Paul (31), Jacqui (27), two kids, J(4) and A(1), and two cats.

    We live in beautiful Paraparaumu Beach, a short walk from the beach and very close to public transport for getting in to Wellington. We have a large park, beach, nature trail and small shops within 10minutes walk from our house. Although we are an hour from Central Wellington, the train journey is beautifully scenic with views over the water.

    If you're not afraid of a bit of hard work...and small children (haha), we have some ambitious plans for our home and would love some help.

    We love to host couples or 2-4 friends travelling together. Families are also welcome to join us, our kids would love new friends.

    Although we have made a huge amount of progress on our house renovations already, we have some ambitious plans for the year ahead (2019/2020) including new outdoor living spaces, house painting, and reworking our garden to build in an enormous vege patch. We would also love to incorporate your own ideas and vision, particularly into the garden spaces.

    We are also planning on making part of our home self contained for future travelers, so we could definitely use the help of anyone with plumbing/building experience to assist with the interior work. The ensuite and kitchenette are currently underway, so please excuse the mess while we get these done.

    Paul commutes and works close to standard business hours, while I am home with the kids during the day. A few times a week, he gets home from work and I commute to the city to work evenings/nights/weekends.

    We have busy lives, but would love some new friends to share it with. We are relaxed, social and love to cook. Our family enjoys spending time at the beach and visiting the local markets on the weekend.

    There is a bus stop close to the house which is a short trip to large shopping mall, cinema, aquatic centre etc. Also the train station.

    Look forward to hearing from you soon.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Check out the local history or the Kapiti Island nature reserve. Embrace the coastal New Zealand way of living, with beach walks, bbqs and diy.

  • Help

    Help

    We are asking travellers for 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week in exchange for board and 1-2 meals a day (can cater for vegetarians). You may also be asked to house-sit the odd night alone as we go away to visit family regularly.
    We are happy to negotiate on the preferred hours and jobs to maximise your time to see everything the kapiti coast and Wellington has to offer.

    The jobs on offer will vary from gardening/digging out paths, house painting and prep, childcare or cooking etc. A little mix of everything.

    We do have afew larger jobs such as concreting a driveway, installing a kitchenette, tiling, and carpet laying etc that we are prepared to negotiate a price for proven expertise on top of providing accommodation. We have all the tools required for these jobs and workspace for you to use

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your space would be a bedroom at the back of the house, with a queen bed and set of drawers. There is an attached second lounge for you to relax in, which currently doubles as a playroom for the kids occasionally.
    This room also has a double sofa bed and can be closed off from the rest of the house for your privacy.

    Work is being carried out currently to install an ensuite and walk in wardrobe to this bedroom, as well as a kitchenette in the attached lounge. Please excuse the mess!

    The current kitchen and bathroom are shared with the family, until we finish renovations on the self contained space. Our home is modest and a bit of a fixer-upper. But we love it and hope you will too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beautiful Kapiti Coast is an hour from Wellington City. The train ride is wonderful with views out to Kapiti Island. The local area has a lot on offer for travellers, there are scenic walking trails, boutique shops, the beach and farmers/craft markets. There is a ferry that goes out to Kapiti Island nature reserve. The walk to the top requires a medium level of fitness, but the day trip is wonderful. We are also nearby the Escarpment trail, which is locally called 'the stairway to heaven

    Wellington City is also wonderful. With its cafe and arts culture and quirky feel. It's easy to get around by foot or bike. You can check out Te Papa Museum, the renowned cable car, or hit the shops and cheap eats in Cuba Street.

    If you are hard working/ non-smoking and comfortable living alongside our crazy kids we would love to hear from you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View of Kapiti Island from the nearby nature trail
Guest accommodation info board
Guest accommodation, with comfy queen size bed.
Dining area
One of our cats, Bonnie.
Front yard
Some of the many plants ready to go into our new gardens

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 885458814138