Help create an orchard near Lake Como, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 adults, me, Patrizia, 47jh, the mom, I am an employee at schools and in my spare time I deal with the gardening, I make carpets on the loom and I create ceramic objects, which I sell at the craft markets.
    I live with my friend David, 44jh, and my three children Samu 24jh, Gabri 19jh, and Elisa 22jh. 4 cats live with us. We live in an attached house on the shore of Lake Como, in a small village called San Siro (COMO) in Lombardy region, northern Italy. The place is very nice and quiet, but a famous touristic destination. Our project it is to arrange an uncultivated land to make a small orchard. The place to make the work is about 1,5km from the house, which can be reached on foot while everything you need for the job will be already there.
    The work must be done independently, following the indications discussed in advance, by two volunteers, whom I am looking for. Sometimes the work can be carried out together with us, depending on the hours free from our work commitments.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guests can learn Italian language and italian cooking.
    They can swimm, make trekking on the mountain, aroud lake Como depending of theirs interests and theirs Sports equipments, they can also make windsurf, kitesurf, mountainbike, canoe and stand up paddle.

  • Help

    Help

    The help requested concerns the creation of an orchard in a land currently uncultivated and still to be cleaned of brushwood and brambles.
    The work will precisely include cleaning the ground, building a fence in wire mesh and wooden poles, leveling the ground, building holes for planting plants.
    In case of prolonged bad weather, small maintenance works will be evaluated at the host property.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is an independent two-room apartment, well forniture, kitchen room with a sofa bed, 1 sleeping room with 2 beds, bathroom with shower. The flat is on the first floor, with mountains view, and has indipendent entrance. Public parking is at 20 mt from the house. City Buses can be reached in 3 minutes walking.
    During working days dinner is prepared in our house in collaboration with the family. For breakfast and lunch and dinners on non-working days, volunteers will have the necessary to prepare meals themselves in the apartment. The shopping will be done by the host twice a week following the indications of the volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to our village, there are many touristic places and cities (Como, Milan, Lugano Switzerland) to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 885133748972