Help out in our flower garden situated in the picturesque village of Gissing on the Norfolk and Suffolk border, East Anglia, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 169 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    405

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, We are looking for helpers to come and stay with us for 2-3 weeks from March 2019. I need help with weeding and mulching the flowers beds ready for the coming season, creating new flower beds, sowing seeds and planting new stock.
    The garden is a rural retreat situated in the quiet village of Gissing on the Norfolk and Suffolk border approximately 20 miles south of the city of Norwich and 5 miles north of the market town of Diss. There are good rail and bus links to Norwich and London. Our garden is a small (approximately 2/3 acre), we specialise in growing a wide variety of flowers and foliages renowned for their seasonality, fragrance and simple beauty to use in our onsite floristry studio..
    The aim and ethos is to be as sustainable as possible, we don’t use chemical sprays as we want to encourage a natural biodiversity within the garden, which means the majority of the work is done by hand. We keep bees, chickens and like to grow our own vegetables.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from this exchange by being in the countryside, surrounded by nature and a respectful environment, there are many learning opportunities in the various of aspects of growing flowers, including organic growing methods and horticultural practices. As a family we enjoy and embrace the cultural exchange that takes place when we host visitors.

  • Help

    Help

    The garden we are cultivating is a peaceful tranquil space, full of beautiful plants, flowers and wildlife. It is very rewarding , particularly if you are interested in horticulture, sustainability, growing flowers and home grown vegetables. Whatever the time of year, there is always something to learn and something of interest in the garden and during the spring, summer and autumn seasons the flower gardens are very beautiful. We hope that you will find staying with us a rewarding and inspirational experience. We are looking for helpers to stay and help with a variety of tasks from February to November to help keep the garden growing: weeding and groundwork, sowing, planting and at certain times harvesting. As a guide we aim for 5 hours help per day, 5 days a week. The help in the garden can be physically demanding and requires people who enjoy the outdoors, are happy to be and live independently and have a good understanding and ability to speak English.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For accommodation, we have a separate wooden cabin in the garden of our house. It comfortably sleeps 2. It has a wood burning stove for heating and some internet access. We are excited to say that we are building an extension which will include a shower room, toilet and kitchen. Delicious home cooked meals are provided during the week, all of which can be eaten around the family kitchen table. We welcome couples, individuals and pairs of volunteers and are looking for helpers who are child and dog-friendly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Norfolk and Suffolk are beautiful counties with a great many places to go and visit. The cathedral city of Norwich is the easiest to get to, there is a castle, museums, great places to eat and shop and medieval lanes to wander. From Norwich you can explore the beautiful coastline of Norfolk and Suffolk.
    Cambridge and London are all accessible by rail and bus. More locally, we are situated in a quiet rural village with plenty of opportunities for walking and cycling with 2 good local pubs! We are looking for helpers who are happy to work and live independently and due to our busy work and family lives we prefer to keep weekends as a private family time so we ask that helpers respect that and aim to make plans for themselves and use this time to either relax in the cabin or plan and make excursions to places in the wider area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

'Garden in May' Volunteers needed to help in the garden from March to October








Host ref number: 884299746966