Join me for a cultural exchange with plenty to see and do in Castlewellan, Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

updated   Last minute

Favourited 297 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1869

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on the site of an old horse riding center. The house will shortly be demolished to make way for 19 new homes,
    In the past 3 years I have farmed worms, grown veg, raised chickens, turkeys and sheep, restored motor cycles and recycled furniture.
    Now though I sell help to pack up my life and move on to me next adventure.
    The site is close to the coast , a nature reserve, as well as being at the foot of the Mourne mountains.
    I have a small yacht with a Chinese (junk) rig thats in the water insummer .
    I enjoy music and riding motorcycles, day trips, home cooking, and the occasional walk in the mountains.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you have poor English im not put off by that and am happy to take time to help you if you so wish
    There are a lot of local bars where live music happens a couple of times a week.( Newcastle)
    The nature and surrounding area is particularly scenic and classed as an area of outstanding beauty.we also have 2 beautiful country park one of which is a ""game of throne " filming location
    A short walk will take you to the main road with bus service to Belfast ,Newry and Dublin

  • Help

    Help

    Currently i need help with clearing me cleaning outbuildings, seting up some workshops, maintaining the live stock and the home.
    Some of the property needs paint. (almost completed)
    My current needs are mostly yo do with setting up a fox proof place to raise chickens, and establishing some permaculture to produce healthy food. I have some things to be disposed from the property and need help.
    I'm also needing someone who knows about working with fiberglass and can help me repair my boats as well as some plastics on my motorbikes.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in farm house with wash small sink, bathroom down stairs.
    Access to kitchen, living room, extensive parking, should you be traveling by motorbike, car or camper van, secure parking places are abundant.
    Converted stone hay loft recently repainted and cleaned.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to many outdoor based activities, archery, places to cycle, horse riding, coast, sailing trips (with me) in the summer, Mountains. Night life.
    I have some bicycles you can use,I love music and play tinwhistle .
    Musicians particularly welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Snakes spiders dragons wider beast

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.7)























Host ref number: 881979397798