Help at our tranquil off-grid remote mountain farm in las Alpujarras, Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 179 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/02/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    121

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Unfortunately this season we have decided not to host workawayers due to the uncertainties of Covid 19 in Spain.

    We are a British couple with a small certified organic farm in the Sierra de Contraviesa, las Alpujarras, Granada southern Spain, looking for help with harvesting. 10 years ago we fell in love with this remote mountain farm and accidentally became almond farmers. We have been renovating the farmhouse, living off grid and learning about the culture, heritage and low impact farming techniques ever since; loving and appreciating the landscape, diversity of birdlife and ecology including 7 species of wild orchids that grow around the farm in the spring.
    It's a beautiful, tranquil remote retreat where we try to be self sufficient in vegetables and value quality of life. The views of the highest peaks of the Sierra Nevada are spectacular and it's a great place to sample a simple way of life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience a traditonal rural Spanish lifestyle, gain an appreciation of the biodiversity and amazing landscape of the Alpujarras and learn about living off grid with solar electricity, solar hot water and spring water. We are learning more about permaculture and would love help designing improvements to the garden. We also make a lot of fermented foods such as milk kefir, kombucha, kimchi and ferments and are happy to share our experience and foods.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with harvesting Almonds and Figs in late August, September and October, which is our busiest time of year. WE currently have space in late September and OCTOBER for more help!

    We lay nets under the almond trees and knock with poles, collecting into sacks. We hand pick the figs for drying on racks. The land is steep so a reasonable degree of fitness is needed.
    We would also appreciate help with the vegetable plots, weeding, harvesting, planting and odd jobs around the farm.

    We also are looking for workawayers who would be happy to help with chopping firewood and pruning at other times of the year (using a chainsaw if you have the training and qualification) , and may be able to accommodate help with building tasks round the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Live and eat as family in our farmhouse with use of a twin or double bedroom and use of own bathroom with shower, room for camping if you prefer. We enjoy cooking a variety of meals including Spanish, European and curries and use a lot of our home grown vegetables, and can cater for vegetarian or vegan. We also love it if you want to cook and we can experience your favourite food too!

    We have a very limited WiFi connection via satellite but theres also good 4G mobile signal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is remote and tranquil with plenty of space for relaxation, yoga or reading or chilling in the hammock. There are plenty of opportunities for walking exploring the area and running. We are happy to give lifts when we are going out shopping, to the local market or yoga etc and to the bus stop at the bottom of the track.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 881414658218