Help with gardening and creating more infra for a permaculture farm on a beautiful island near Lielahti, Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small permaculture farm surrounded by beautiful nature. I am an activist myself in humanrights and climate change related issues. I do work teaching permaculture, making natural products, selling falafels at festivals, but mostly I do a lot of volunteering myself.

    My farm needs "intensive care" since I have just completed a very time taking 3 years project when my farm wasn't getting enough attention from me. There are structures needing to be taken down, repared and modified, garden and fencing need attention.

    RIGHT NOW you can help with:
    * some machines and a car needs fixing, I can't do that myself
    * fence needs to fixed
    * building traditional spruce fence
    * a lot of moving soil, manure, logs etc from place to place - proper workout ;)
    * planting trees
    * taking down damaged greenhouse

    Also if you are good with homepages I have a project that needs some it help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Our work is very variating. At the moment we are building the infrastructure for holding events in future. We live by the permaculture principles. We have experimental farm and animal sanctuary. We are also involved in communal work in permaculture center in Turku involving volunteer work and event organizing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very basic/primitive - Yurt, tiny house + vegetarian basic food, mostly organic, outside toilet, sauna, swimming beach 1km, possibility for kayaking if you stay a bit longer

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a kayak and bikes to borrow. We live in a beautiful island surraunded by pure nature. Riding horses is possible. We connect with local ecovillages and alternative scene

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 879457178124