Help my with my new project renovating an old house and terraced garden in the Correze, Limousin, France

Country

France

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4696

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have worked in PR. I wanted to move to France, let an apartment to tourists and renovate an old house and garden. I like cooking, sewing, painting and decorating, gardening and I would like help with decorating and gardening, if possible, help with knocking out an internal wall or cleaning out attic (I've done most of it) maybe building in some old windows up there if someone had that sort of skill; painting windows (depending on time of year).

    This is a very old house that is habitable; it's been set up as 3 apartments so it needs modernising and I need help with that and the garden is a series of terraces, so anyone with knowledge of gardening would be welcome. A large attic is in good condition but it needs insulating, windows are missing at one end but there's some been left behind that could be cut to fit maybe and there are shutters on that end; wallpaper stripping and wood-work painting, bathrooms upgrading and new kitchens installing. Washing, ironing and cleaning - anything to help get the place ready to run as a place for tourists to enjoy.

    Anyone handy as a builder, plumber or electrician or carpenter would be most welcome and to stay long term if we get on.

    This is a lovely 17thC house with lovely original fireplace in sitting room and high speed internet, and huge TV in one room with Netflix; very relaxing environment. It's a large house on 4 floors, so plenty of room. If you are travelling to Spain, or Geneva or Bordeaux or down to South of France, or up to Paris then this house is directly mid-point and just off the A20 so very popular with people travelling from all directions - it's the perfect stop over point!

    I am vegetarian, bordering on vegan but am a good cook - I don't serve meat though! I am very happy to include meals and drinks within reason! Happy to buy you meat as long as I don't have to cook it in my kitchen (cold meats and pates are fine!)

    I am a fairly quiet person, just me and the dog (you have to be confident with dogs as although small, he is an old rescue and nervous around people so I can't take children here sorry!) I am happy to eat together but don't stay up too late and like to get up early. I also do some work online, so generally I like to do work in the house 9.00 a.m. until lunchtime and then a couple of hours 4p.m. till 6 p.m. Monday - Friday, leaving the rest to you. I am happy to cook and wash up.

    I have a medium sized rescue dog that is about 12 years old, a bit nervous and barks a lot at first but quietens down once he knows you. My daughter sometimes comes to stay. She lives in the UK with her dad and is studying there.

    The town is quiet in the Winter, there's a cinema, cafe, library, supermarkets and small shops (have to drive 2km to the supermarkets), nice walks around the town and by the river.

    I can accept families, but I would not advise children around my rescue dog.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have worked in PR and Marketing all my life and run a business and am used to looking after people. I can teach you all about how to blog, create a website and find customers online, or how to run a business and learn to speak better English, also some French conversation, if that is also helpful. Uzerche is steeped in history and very interesting to explore. Louis XIII once visited the Courts of Justice next door. It's a fairytale town with turrets and spires, my house is built into the steep granite fortress walls of the old city complete with arrow slit in the cellar and is built over 4 floors with lovely views of the rooftops and the river. This place is delightful if you like fresh air and lots of woods and walking.

  • Help

    Help

    I bought a very large old town-house in Uzerche, France and am running it as tourist apartments for letting as its set up a 3 apartments already. I would like some help with building work generally such as painting and decorating; cleaning up old wooden floors; insulating and boarding attic and installing velux windows; stripping paintwork and repainting woodwork; installing new showers and plugs and gardening. The garden is built over a number of small terrace levels and needs digging and planting and would prefer men who are good at DIY. House is set over 4 floors, in a very historic, medieval, delightful town (quiet in Winter but there is a train station so you can get up to Paris and down to Toulouse and from LImoges you can pick up the train to Amsterdam). All amenities within walking distance. If you like woods, forests, rivers, peace and quiet, walking and to soak up the old part of France, a bit off the beaten track, then this is for you; there is a train station in the town and from here you can also get to Limoges or down to Brive-le-Gaillarde where there are markets and lots of things to do; in colder weather, logs fires and relaxing by the fire with comfy sofa and bottles of wine and listening to music are on hand in winter and also British TV and Netflix, and all meals are included. Open air swimming pool open July and August.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English; French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Plenty of room in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Uzerche is known as the Pearl of the Limousin. My house overlooks the river Vezere where there is a range of water sports; cinema (French) and local cafe only a few yards away; near to all amenities within the town, it's a bit hilly, lots of lovely walks. Locals are friendly, the area is steeped in history. Can get train to Limoges or Brive-la-Gaillarde from within the town, also can get up to Paris OR Bla-Bla Cars (see online) you can get to most places car sharing for a few Euros, or via the big coaches down to Barcelona etc) - lots of markets, shops and music and entertainment and bars if you want a day out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Apple picking at friend's chateau in Lagrauliere.




Host ref number: 874535251494