Cacao Farm in Quebrada Valencia, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/04/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hola, I am Gloria, I live in the north of Colombia in the Magdalena department between Santa Marta and Palomino, kilometer 45, it is called Quebrada Valencia.
    I discovered this region when I was 17 years old, I fell in love and I bought a land a few years later with the desire to develop my projects.
    I lived for 30 years in France where I worked as a teacher of Afro-Latin dances and as Chef of the Cordon Bleu school in Paris. But I never forgot my land and my origins, and I returned to my land in Colombia: AWARINGWA.
    I am in a Tayrona sanctuary, I am rescuing my shamanic ancestral roots.
    I have more or less 6 hectares of cocoa, more than 40 avocado trees. I make my own chocolate with which we make French cakes, cakes, cookies (and much more!), We also propose the cocoa tour. I also do massages and healing circles thanks to the inheritance that my father left me.
    I want to help us meet Mother Earth again, we learn to take care of her in another way, to love her.

    Hola, Soy Gloria, vivo en el norte de Colombia en el departamiento Magdalena entre Santa Marta y Palomino, kilometro 45, se llama Quebrada Valencia.
    Descubri esta region cuando tenia 17 anos, me enamoré y compré una tierra unos anos despues con el deseo de desarrollar mis proyectos.
    Vivi 30 anos en Francia donde trabajé como profesora de danzas afrolatinas y como Chef de la escuela Cordon Bleu en Paris. Pero jamas olvidé a mi tierra y mis origines, y regresé a mi tereno en Colombia : AWARINGWA.
    Estoy en un sanctuario Tayrona, estoy rescatando mis raices ancestrales chamanicas.
    Tengo mas o menos 6 hectarias de cacao, mas de 40 arboles de aguacates. Fabrico mi propio chocolate con cual hacemos tortas francesas, pasteles, galletas (y mucho mas!), tambien proponemos el tour del cacao. Hago tambien masajes y circulos de sanacion gracias a la herencia que me dejo mi padre.
    Quiero ayudar a que nos encontremos de nuevo con la madre tierra, que aprendemos a cuidarla de otra forma, a amarla.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can learn the whole cocoa process, from the seed to the melt!
    We can practice languages, I speak Spanish and French.
    You can learn about the veneziana technique (make masks), craft with natural materials.
    I can share my knowledge in massage with oil and clay, and about healing circles.
    You can learn many things about cooking, I can share my recipes and techniques or eat a good "boeuf bourguignon" with potatoes "dauphinois"!
    My place is a point to visit other places in the region such as Tayrona park, hiking, rivers, waterfalls, beaches, mountains, snow, hot springs, riding horses, Santa Marta or Palomino ...

    Los voluntarios pueden aprender todo el proceso del cacao, de la semilla hasta el fundido !
    Podemos practicar idiomas, hablo espanol y frances.
    Pueden aprender acerca de la tecnica veneziana (hacer mascaras), artesania con materiales naturales.
    Puedo compartir mi conocimiento en masajes con aceite y con arcilla, y acerca de los circulos de sanacion.
    Pueden aprender muchas cosas de cocina, puedo compartir mis recetas y tecnicaso comer un buen "boeuf bourguignon" con papas "dauphinois" !
    Mi lugar es un punto para ir a visitar otros lugares de la region como el parque Tayrona, caminatas, los rios, cascadas, playas, montanas, la nieve, aguas termales, montar caballos, Santa Marta o Palomino...

  • Help

    Help

    I need help in carpentry to finish a house and to make a wall with stones.
    Also to take care of the animals that I have: pigs, donkeys, chickens, ducks and dogs.
    You could help me with the cocoa process, pick it up, dry it, toast it and turn it into chocolate.
    I would like to make a garden.
    All initiatives to develop the project are welcome!

    Necesito ayuda en carpenteria para terminar una casa y para hacer un muro con piedras.
    Tambien para cuidar a los animales que tengo : cerdos, burros, gallinas, patos y perros.
    Podria ayudarme con el proceso del cacao, recogerlo, secarlo, tostarlo y transformarlo en chocolate.
    Me gustaria hacer una huerta.
    Todas iniciativas para desarrollar el proyecto son bienvenidas !

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    espanol, frances

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have camping space, it is better if you can bring your tent, but I have one for 5 people available and hammocks.
    I use a dry bath.
    You have to take into account that I do not have electricity but you can load your things on the road at 10 minutes walking. Bring your flashlight!
    I offer the axeso to my kitchen and we share the meal.

    Tengo espacio de camping, es mejor si puede traer su carpa, sino tengo una para 5 personas disponible y hamacas.
    Uso un bano seco.
    Hay que tomar en cuenta que no tengo electricidad pero puede cargar sus cosas en la carretera a 10 minutos caminando. Trae tu linterna !
    Ofresco el axeso a mi cocina y compartimos la comida.E

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.


Host ref number: 873265691926