Help me to make my place more ecological and biodiverse in Drôme Provençal, France

Country

France

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a dutch woman living in France for eight years now in a beautiful 150 years old farm with 2 hectares of fertile riverland. I discovered the struggling of the area Drome Provençal with the climate change and the effects on their (biological) agriculture. Since my children left home for their studies, I dedicated more time to learn about permaculture en transform my property into a more ecological and biodivers place to make my contribution for giving back to the earth all that the earth has given me.

    The main goal is to implement a permaculture design to create more self sufficiency in the area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Nature will go on growing and living, with or without us, so I really invite you to be part of this consiousness and knowing. In observing nature I learned a lot more than I could possibly think of and in these times of uncertainty and fear, it provides upportunities. I love to share that with people, so I'm looking forward to share commun meals and talk about you're experiences in whatever language. Normally I invite my guests to all my artistic projects, but because of restrictions in the number of people joining together, I can't make promises at the moment.

    I speak English, French, German and Dutch so if you are learning one of those languages, we can communicate in the language you want to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening: cutting trees and hedges, chopping wood for heating, cover the land with mulch, preparing beds for spring.

    By the end of november picking olives for making olive oil.

    Carpentry: I'm planning to built a rainwater system micro climate hedges, compost toilets, green house, shed and I am busy repairing the roof. so carpentry skills are very welcome.

    If you can drive a trailer that would be helpful.

    Indoors: The farm-house is big and old, so there is always something that needs attention: watersystems, electricity, painting, repairing, replacing. Because of COVID it is more complicated to find available helpers and at the same time keep the distance. My focus for the coming year is therefore outside, but if you want to make a contribution to the private part of the house or rather do the tasks inside, don't hesitate to contact me.

    During the summerseason (, July, august) a part of the house is rented. In this period I am busy with the guests and cannot receive workawayers. When this part of the house is not rented ( off season), you will have a room in this part and I only expect you leave it just the way you found it. The goal of your stay will be permaculture and cultural exchange, not the renting business.

    Hours normally somewhere between 8 AM and 5 PM, but every external factor like, kind of tasks, weather circumstances, physical preference or other wishes can be discussed or change the hours. The main common meal will be at noon.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The farm has two seperate parts each with a kitchen, living room, two bedrooms and a bathroom. One part is for rent, but normally only in the summer. Since COVID this part is sometimes used by people who need to stay in quarantaine for 2 weeks, and could not stay with their families. During your visit here, you have to respect the distance between me and other guests for their and your own safety. You will have a room and bathroom for private use.

    Shared meals are mainly outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Donzere has a train station with daily connections to Montelimar and Avignon. There you can find other train connections and TGV to Lyon, Marseille, Grenoble, the nearest aeroports.

    The Drome Provençal has a lot of beautiful little villages, is known for its lavender oil, olive oil and wine production. Walking, Hiking, VTT areas and unendless paths are nearby in the woods of the Ardeche, the Vercors mountains or the pre-Alps.

    Only 50m from the farm you can find the Via Rhona, a cycling path thats start at the beginning of the Rhone and ends in the mediterrean.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 872756292993