Looking for a friendly person that helps us baby sitting, Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for a friendly workaway that would help us on our farm babysitting our 2 years old daughter during the day. We live in central Portugal in the foothills of the Gardunha mountains where we breed aquatic plants in natural ponds for a living, in a valley about 5 km from the historic village of Alpedrinha. The Estrela mountains, Portugal's highest peaks, are nearby, wild and adventurous, and the villages around are charming and laid back.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am French and Martien is Dutch, we are a young couple that lives in Portugal, so culturally it is all quite mixed. Our farm is very private with no direct neighbours and has views on the Gardunha mountains. The Portuguese in the villages nearby are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you, but our property is quite isolated at the end of a 1,5 km dirt track and we do not go there every day. We can lend our bicycles to explore the area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for some one to take care of our 2 year old daughter Iris every now and again during the day. She is very easy going, but I need some rest every so often and Martien works outside a lot so cannot always be there when necessary. Also a bit of house keeping would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in your own private room inside our house, which has a double bed. We have a shower with hot water that is shared, just like the rest of our living space. Internet access is available free of charge like anything else, such as 3 meals a day and washing clothes. We are very easy going, but need effective work in return.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go on foot to the villages of Alpedrinha or Vale de Prazeres, respectively 5km and 3km away, or hitch a ride with us when we go to town, or take one of our bicycles. These villages are small but have pubs, small grocery stores and bakeries. The city of Castelo Branco is 35 km away, Fundao 18 km and there you can get all you'd need. There are a bus stop and a train station in Alpedrinha.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 872423683271