Volunteering at our Farm and/or Teaching English and botanical garden at Runtun, Baños Ecuador.

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 544 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    98  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    995

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We are Mónica (27 years), Holger (27 years), Emily (5 years), Wilo (49 years), Alba (44 years), We are living on a beautiful small farm in a village called Runtún, very close (15 minutes bus) to Baños. A beautiful place in the middle of nature, but very close to all the activities that Baños is offering! From our house you can even see the volcano Tungurahua. Our family is working in agriculture and we have some cows. It’s a perfect place to practice your Spanish as most of us only speak Spanish! However, Monica is a Spanish teacher that is fluent in English and thus always able to help you out on the farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to know much better how an ecuadorian family lives and how we grow our food. You will try typical dishes and of course, you will practice and learn our language in a natural environment.
    You will have the best experience ever!!

  • Help

    Help

    1.- FARM VOLUNTEERING
    You could help us out in the greenhouses where we grow Babaco fruit, and Tomatoes, or help in the small organic garden that we use to grow our own vegetables. (You have to bring gloves for work. And rain boots optional.)
    We would love to cook together to share recipes and typical dishes from your country!

    2.- TEACHING ENGLISH
    If you are an English teacher or have experience teaching, we can arrange some English classes for my daughter Emily. ( She is a fast learner and has a good pronunciation of English).

    3. DESIGN A GARDEN
    Since my parents are building a botanical garden, we are looking for a professional gardener or someone who can design a garden ( if you are the right person for it and can stay longer, we can arrange it with any Fee payment).

    Contact us for more information!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a room for our volunteers which will be shared when there are more volunteers with a private bathroom, hot water. There will be 3 meals a day which will be eaten together with the family. We would love to cook together and get to know your culture a bit better. Nevertheless, since we are a farmer family with relatively a low income we ask for a small contribution for food which is $5 dollars a day per person. Thanks for your understanding!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since Monica is a Spanish teacher we can have private Spanish classes. You would get the unique opportunity to practice every day since the family speaks Spanish only. Ask us by email for more information! We are looking forward to hear from you!
    Ther are many beautiful viewpoints near hear. And we are very close to the famous "La Casa del Arbol" with the swings.
    There is also public transportation available every day from our village, Runtun, to the city, Baños.
    You can have internet connection here as well.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are looking forward to hear from you!*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    This host charges a fee

    read more
    US$5 per day to help with food costs
The landscape seen from the house. Tungurahua volcano at the back.
Tomatoes
Picking up "Tomates de árbol" in our greenhouses.
With the volunteers at home
Rabbita
Our cows
Babaco

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









































































Host ref number: 869369728365