Italian-American family looking for English childcare help



Favourited 96 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Hello! We are a bicultural and bilingual Italian-American family living in Faenza, Italy. I, Monica, grew up mostly in the US with an Italian mother and American father. We spent all summers in Italy and I moved here permanently in 2008. My husband Michele is from northern Italy at the base of the Alps. We met working for my parents' bike touring company and have since taken it over. We have two children, 8 year old Lidia and Thomas is almost 4. We speak English primarily in the house and would like to have somebody live with us who speaks fluent English so the children continue to get exposure to English. Both kids are in pre-school or school until about 4. During the day, workawayer can have free time or make money at our office (bike tourism business) or teaching English (we'll put you in touch with other teachers who need help). Both our home and work environment are young and dynamic with lots of multi-lingual and multi-cultural folks coming and going. We are now looking for help from mid January 2020.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a bicultural and bilingual life! Anybody interested in the tourism business can also learn about adventure travel!

  • Help


    The main purpose to have a volunteer is to have English spoken around the children and some assistance in caring for them (morning taking to school, pick up from school and a few hours before dinner time) after that depending on workawayer interest, the help can be with: cooking for us or at for lunches at our office in the countryside with lots of young and interesting bicycle tour leaders and staff; helping with farming/vegetable growing in the countryside; possibly helping in the office or doing miscellaneous chores. Flexibility is a must!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian (also French and Spanish)

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers will have their own room with bathroom in a separate wing of the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the heart of Emilia Romagna, a vibrant region with lots to offer visitors and those who live here. The town of Faenza is famous for its ceramics (indeed, the French word for ceramics, "faience", comes from this town!). The town is very livable, full of events for young people like concerts, bars, cultural events. The famous art towns in the region like Bologna, Ravenna (famous for its mosaics), Rimini, Parma, Modena, Ferrara are easily accessible by train (all less than an hour away with easy train connections). Additionally, access to the larger Italian art cities like Florence (2 hours away by train over the mountains as we are just 100 km from Florence), Venice (3 hours away by train), Rome (3 hours away by fast train). The beach is nearby with easy access as well.
    A shared car can be available and you will have the use of a bicycle.
    Since we work in the tourism business, our busy season starts in late April and ends in mid-October. We may occasionally travel and, depending on how we decide (along with the workawayer) to handle the children (grandparents assist as well, etc), workawayer may have the chance to travel with us (expenses paid by us).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 868153192542