Help with creating a place of sanctuary with and for nature in Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 207 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have an 8 acre smallholding in west Wales, situated in the beautiful Pembrokeshire Coast National Park in a small village in view of the Preseli hills. My vision is of it being a place of sanctuary, healing, beauty and harmony for all (nature and people) to thrive in and as a contribution to the future. It's in its early stages! I am in my early 60s, with a lot of vitality, but in need of more physical help here. I am growing fruit and veg organically, with permaculture, no dig and biodynamic help, creating a forest garden, planting trees on the land and encouraging back wildflowers, more habitats and species. The land here has a sacred and magical quality, (there are two standing stones in my fields), and already I notice it is having its healing effect on people. I like to work co-creatively with nature here.

    I have a quiet, simple and low impact lifestyle. Being in nature, gardening and reading are my pleasures. I enjoy connecting with others, but also need time alone. I live with a cat. There is no TV, and I encourage as much non-virtual/screen based time here as possible. Accommodation is either in the house in the colder months, or outside in a small caravan, or tent(s) in the warmer months with compost loo and outdoor shower. I try to keep our impact low here, both inside and out. In the warmer weather I have online rental guests in the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers can benefit from the experience of living in a more simple, low impact and sustainable life, closer to and connecting with nature, within the peace of the gardens and land; learning more about organic and forest gardening, no-dig, permaculture ideas; opportunity to use your creativity in the work; enjoying healthy vegetarian/vegan meals together and discussions over meals. Also the option to share in co-creative work with nature ; improving English skills through our communications (although you need to be able to speak fairly well already to be here).

  • Help

    Help

    In general I welcome people wishing to contribute to the tasks here, who also want to learn and benefit from closer connection with nature, the projects, and the sanctuary here. There is help in the forest and vegetable gardens, also flower gardens - weeding, mulching and planting; mowing, scything and other garden tasks; clearing brambles in other areas, cutting hedges etc. There is also wood chopping and stacking; fencing repairs; outdoor painting jobs in dry weather; indoor painting and other small DIY jobs, plus cleaning and sewing (for those skilled) in wet weather!

    There are also some outdoor rustic type building projects needed e.g. some creative and rustic extensions needed to my round wooden hut and to a small brick shed; possibly creating solar powered heat for the outdoor shower; plus more, for someone with these kinds of skills who wants to stay a little longer.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan and bell tent in warmer weather, sometimes wooden yurt, together with compost loo and outdoor shower, or room in the house in the colder months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    People need to feel content in a fairly isolated rural situation - no shops or pubs nearby - and also with their own company as at times it's only me here and I need time alone too. There are beautiful walks closeby on the Preseli hills and moors, a famous dolman Pentre Ifan, an ancient magical oak forest and much more. The area has many standing stones. dolmens, circles and sacred sites. The nearest bus and shop is about 3 miles away in Eglwyswrw, with the T5 and Poppit Rocket going to Newport (5 miles) and Cardigan (10 miles) with their shops and beaches. I go into Cardigan weekly to dance and shop, and can take you with me. Arrive by coach or train to Haverfordwest (17 miles away) with a local bus (T5) which comes to Newport or the local garage in Eglwyswrw, where I can pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 867861951194