Help and experience our beautiful lake Maggiore at our family run, home and stunning garden, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    862

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family is composed of 5: Andrea, aged 48, Orsola, aged 42, Carlo Annibale, 8, and Fiammetta, 2. We include Mary, from Sri Lanka, who helps us a lot with the run of the family, and who for us is a part of the family. We currently live in Milan but during summer holidays part of the family moves to Oggebbio, lake Maggiore, Northern Italy.

    Andrea is specialized in agriculture and is the President of a little association of camellia lovers. Very youg minded, worked in England, he travelled all over the world with its mountain bike and now he affected Carlo Annibale, our son, with this passion as well.
    He currently works in several building sites, running a green company based in Milan with several places mostly in Northern Italy. He speaks english and studying russian. He reachs the family in Oggebbio during the weekends of July and the summer holidays. When he reaches Oggebbio he takes a lot care of the garden.

    Orsola is from Verona's area, she wellcomes the guests of the guest house located in the garden of villa Anelli, and is an egger: she paints eggshells surfaces, and organizes craft workshops. She currently speaks fluent english and french but would practice also german: she just started to study it. She is very friendly and loves air and colours. She also loves a lot cooking and loves to have friends and people around.

    Carlo is 8 and attends a public school with several subjects in english. He just begun to learn it so he needs to practice it as much as possibile before the new school year will begin, month of September.
    He is very tall and really clever. Extremely passionate of Lego, creative and kind. He loves playing soccer and riding its bycicle. He also loves a lot drawing maps and invent exploration games.
    He is very humourous but sometimes a kind of shady: from time to time he is jealous of the little sister. So Andrea and I would like to help him offering an english voulounteer hand to help him concentrating on his many skills.
    In summertime the holidays are really long and he asked not to be inscribed in summer champs. So we would offer him a special person to help him enjoying the long stay to the lake.

    Fiammetta is only 2 but is really active: her name means "Little Flame": when I was pregnant of her, she was so much moving that I told Andrea she will hae a great character and will be extremely lively: and she definetely is. She is very smiling and adores singing, dancing and have somebody who reads her a book. She keeps on asking "a one more and then it is enough", but this after 8 children books read her per day. She is a kind of challenging little girl, as a one of 2 years old should be.

    The garden is half an hectar located at 60 mt above the level of the lake. it is an open air museum with its collection of more than 400 labelled different cultivar of camellias. has a little rocky valley with a stream, the "Paradise river" wich runs trough it. It is quite renowned and passionate people from all over the world come to visit it during the blooming season.
    During summer time the gardeners house inside of it, which just gor restaured, is rented via bnb and many people come there to spend their holidays, considering Oggebbio as a good base to explore the lake Maggiore environment.
    During summer most of the guests coming are from Germany's area.
    We would need a hand during summer, if it is very hot, to provide water to some areas, and ordinary maintenance. We all look after it a lot.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will have a place to stay on their own (an independent flat) and experience Italian daily family life in a very stunning environment. We are super hosts on Airbnb so a lot of strangers come during summertime, mostly from Northern Europe.
    Travellers will have the opportunity to enjoy and discover the lake Maggiore Italian summers, so swim on the lake walking to reach it in a very nice little village.
    Travellers will have the opportunity to relax and help in the beautiful and renowned garden of Villa Anelli,
    We have a biological kitchen garden wich feeds us that will be available for everybody.
    Lake Maggiore is a splendid, touristic environment, with lake to swim, mountains to hike, hills to discover, and renowned gardens and towns to visit.
    Food is excellent everywhere.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mostly needing a help to Orsola in July and August to help language practicing and entertaining our children with english and/or german mothertongues, and help with the gardening.
    The kids are aged 8 and 2, with different needs: and Orsola cannot be shared in 2.
    So patients lovers of kids are more than wellcome!
    Orsola during those months is always there while Andrea is reaching just in the weekends of July. Luckly there is also Mary, a Sri Lankan lady helps also a lot in the house but we would give the kids an opportunity of learning english and play a lot with them and would ask for some help also in the garden! Carlo will not be in Oggebbio during the month of July so for this month we need a hand just for Fiammetta. For August we need a hand for both of them!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French, Orsola is learning German, Andrea is learning Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a smiling and wellcoming environment, food and accomodation in an independent little flat facing our house, located in the village of Gonte di Oggebbio. We will provide blankets and towels, the washing and drier machine is available, and in the house there is a kitchen. If travellers will want to have meals with us is perfect (Mery and Orsola are great cooks), but there is also the chance to cook independently in the little flat where voulounteer are hosted.
    We have a great biological kitchengarden available for the hosts travellers and us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers can do a lot with their time off.
    The lake is reachable via easy walk, and we have a lot pf people who come paying to our place!
    We have a guest book with many tips of sight seeings and restaurants to try, we will also be discovering the area and off course we will help travellers to discover the area, We also keep on doing it.
    Andrea loves going on bycicles and we have a little boat to enjoy the lake that, when he is there, we use a lot.
    There is a public bus service from Oggebbio that connects daily to the main towns near (Verbania and Cannobbio).
    The train service is a little more far but we will help with our car.
    Unfortunately the car is really useful in the climby village of Oggebbio, but our house is located in the fraction where there is the bar, the grocey shop, the pharmacy and the post office.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Fiammetta helping in Oggebbio kitchen to extract dyes with camellia petals, to decorate the eggshells
Carlo Annibale exploring the stream in Locarno Camellia Garden
a great library about camellias and the view from a window of the house
Yucca on a vase in the garden, the great beech tree on the background
This is Oggebbio, picture taken from our boat
the lake nearby, we will go there to swim. those are the castles of Cannero
Andrea in the garden talking to visitors about the camellia garden
Andrea, Carlo Annibale and Fiammetta in the dining room of the main house
Orsola, would like to practise english and german, and would need a hand with the two kids,to make them practicing english and play
Fiammetta, aged 2, want to introduce her to english?
Andrea and Carlo, would like a hand with english, and taking care of the garden
a view of the camellia garden, a sort of open air museum with a camellia collection of more than 400 labelled different cultivar
Carlo, aged 8, and Fiammetta, aged 2: feel like to make them playing in english and keep their smiling?
Host ref number: 867779379368