Learn to care for animals and poultry on a family hobby farm in Co. Mayo, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 92 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a farm in Mayo, we have a few cows, sheep, goats and chickens. We breed poultry for shows and eggs, and now have lambs being born and baby chicks and ducks hatching. We have 2 ponies and a horse at an out farm who will be coming home soon.

    We are not a business selling poultry etc. to the public for money. It is a hobby and we use the animals and produce for our own consumption.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    One of us has a TEFL qualification so can help with English practice. We also have a garden and are now planting vegetables for us to enjoy in the year so you can learn about the garden. Animal care is important and you will learn about different types of poultry and caring for stock. We are close to Knock which is a place of pilgrimage and gets a lot of visitors every year.
    We are also only 20 minutes away from knock airport which can make getting here easier.
    We are a bus ride from Galway where you can go on trips to Connemara, Kylemore Abbey or just spend time in Galway.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help caring for the animals especially the baby ones as they have to be minded carefully. There is also some cleaning of the animals and general repairs as with the weather something is always breaking. There are animals in the sheds so they have to be cleaned out regularly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room in our house, and you will join us for all meals, you can help cook or if you have a special dish you like to cook you can cook sometimes. We have sheets and towels and also a washing machine so you can travel light if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is always busy with people coming and going, lots of chances to chat in English and improve your language. We would like people to come and feel at home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)





Host ref number: 865813138699