Help on our small avocado orchard and in our garden, Opotiki, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    69

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband Kerry and I (Jacqui) are both teachers (nearing retirement), though we have experienced a number of other jobs in our lives. We have a Border Collie dog named Maggie, chickens, rabbits, native birds, a generous vegetable garden, and a big landscaped garden. We do all of the work on the orchard ourselves, including picking, pruning etc.

    Our facilities are modern. We lead a healthy lifestyle.

    Kerry is also a builder and often has a project underway. He loves do it yourself projects'.
    Jacqui is also a yoga instructor, enjoys cooking and gardening and loves working alongside Kerry.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both of us ( Jacqui and Kerry my husband) have travelled widely, we are both teachers. Our orchard is small and hence we do most of the work. We are looking for energetic travellers, who are happy to fit in with our 'do it yourself' rural lifestyle. We are a few minutes walk from the beach, ten minutes drive to the closest town (Opotiki, Bay of Plenty). Public transport is NOT easily available.

  • Help

    Help

    Help on our small avocado orchard, pruning, fertilising, (almost organic) maintenance also gardening around the house including household chores etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Newly completed semi detached double room with cooking and washing facilities. Very quiet location. We are perched on a ridge that overlooks the Pacific Ocean with a north east aspect.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The main attractions in this area of New Zealand is White Island an active volcano and a popular tourist destination. Excellent fishing, kayaking, surfing, tramping, mountain biking, swimming.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 864389715846