We need someone reliable to care of animals and help with maintenance near Vila Nogueira de Azeitao

Country

Portugal

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired psychotherapist and currently look after all the animals on our farm: sheep, chickens, donkeys, ducks, pig, pony and crazy goat (who may be returned to her herd very shortly!).

    We are also a registered cheese museum, and although no longer have a large herd of sheep or make cheese commercially, we have cheese workshops and tastings, where people can come and learn how our famous cheese used to be made and have a hands-on experience.

    I have three children, 7 grandchildren - currently my daughter runs the events and cheese museum, and I do the workshops when in English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone reliable who will take care of the animals, fix the fences around the chicken run, keep the farmyard clean and tidy and general maintenance of farm buildings. Help with small permaculture forest garden, making raised beds, turning compost etc.

    Prepare and maintain a vegetable garden, produce for volunteer and family. Assist in cleaning of cheese museum and help with tourists when necessary. Help repair shelter for pony. Would be great if volunteer has experience and skills in carpentry.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a farm worker's cottage which would be offered as accommodation. There is hot water, washing machine, fridge, etc. It has - two rooms, small living area with fireplace, cooking area and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are within walking distance of beautiful village of Vila Nogueira de Azeitão - beaches about half an hour away (bus or car) Lisbon 45 minutes by bus. We would prefer non smokers, mature volunteers welcome also. For internet connection it would be necessary to obtain a USB pen (is it called a dongle??)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours


Host ref number: 863636466886