Small farm in West Cork, Ireland requires some help

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 223 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    403

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Note now it is March 2020 we will need help as it’s then our ewes will be lambing so no point in messaging that you are able to come immediately or for the next couple of months as we won’t need help until March but we would be very glad of help then and happy to host you

    We have a small sheep farm with some breeding ewes ,situated in a very scenic area in West Cork. We have our own transport and would be willing to provide transport if needed. We will provide accommodation and good quality home grown food in return for help needed in general farm work eg working with the sheep cutting wood a little fencing etc.

    You would be treated as part of our family. Our son lives with us. We are a very jolly family and love a good laugh we would show ye many beautiful sites and places. It would not be a case of all work and no play, We like to treat people well and that they will leave with a good knowledge of this whole area which is very beatiful especially in Spring and Summer, having had a wonderful experience here. We are 45 minutes from Cork Airport and the city of Cork, (which is the second biggest city in Ireland) There are buses going to Cork from our local town a few times daily. There are many exciting places and things to see and do there. We are only 1 hour from Killarney in Kerry which is a beautiful place. There are 5 other interesting towns to visit within 30 minutes radius from us. The sea side is only 30 minutes away. It is a lovely part of Ireland. Ye won't be disappointed I assure ye. We have had a few people come to us In recent years through workaway and they loved the experience and we are still in contact with them. A couple have returned to visit us again.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will get a good insight into our culture and improve their English. We will inform them about local history and show them local sites and places of interest. They will be able to taste some free range meat from our farm. We have hens so we have our own free range eggs. They will get accustomed to other Irish food. Hopefully we will learn some of their cultures also as we have done with previous people who stayed here with us. It should be a positive experience for both host and workaway alike

  • Help

    Help

    We need the help with general farm chores . Afternoons are usually free for you to do whatever you wish. Sometimes the work can be a bit physical. We like people who are outgoing and chatty so we can share our stories with them and in turn learn from them. We have had couples and just one person at different times either way it worked out well . We love to share some of our cooking and they usually cook some of their favorite meals for us too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be living with us and be part of our family in a beautiful picturesque peaceful area of west Cork . All the people that lived with us said they enjoyed the experience, as you can see from reviews left.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    They can commune with nature plenty clean fresh air peace and tranquillity with stunning views West Cork is a well know tourist area its the home of Sam McGuire. 25 minutes from Birthplace of Michael Collins . They can go fishing walking &cycling. There is a new state of the art swimming pool in our local town and a pitch & put course. This is a fantastic area to live or visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Homemade scones!







Host ref number: 863264378462