Delightful 18th-century former farmhouse in Malaucène, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own a delightful old former farmhouse in the south of France in 8 acres of land. I spent many years with my family in SE Asia, and am now back home in Provence. We occasionally need help redecorating and gardening when I am back in France. UK-born, a semi-retired translator with four children, I have spent most of my life abroad, between Europe and SE Asia.

    We are about 3 kms from the mediaeval village of Malaucène, and 5 from Vaison-la-Romaine, close to the foot of the Mont Ventoux (of Tour de France fame).

    Some years ago we were regular hosts via another volunteer organisation, and had a great reputation with our visitors from around the world.

    Update - the Covid situation has badly affected France, but our home is large enough to accommodate social distancing when required!

    Lastly, apologies to anyone who messaged us without reply. We lost access to our Homeaway account, and were not able to reply to people contacting us. All good now...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am bilingual English French, and a single dad of a 11 year old who has lived with me most of her young life - and is bilingual English/Thai. So we are certainly a multicultural family!

  • Help

    Help

    An old farm, we spend about half our time clearing the land and gardening, the remainder on general upkeep and repairs, painting etc, around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are pleasant rooms and bathrooms around the property destined for summer lets during the holiday season, so these are ideal for our volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Flexible hours, but public transport is rather rare, so we drive our helpers into the local towns (5 and 10 minutes away by car) when possible...

    We enjoy good food and wine, but appreciate a little help around the kitchen too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    For a relatively isolated property, our download/upload speeds are ok but not fantastic. Fibre was laid outside our home last year, we are waiting to hear when we can connect...

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    Good-natured dogs accepted

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 861442238397