Help out around the house and enjoy the beautiful island of Öland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are Ann & Kex (his name is Wolfgang, but everybody calls him Kex) and we emigrated from Berlin to this beautiful island of Öland in 2008. We run a touristplace with a toy- and kiteshop, a 2D-café and a gallery. The tourist season is very short (june - sept) and we have swedish employers for the work during this time. Kex is also working with an alround-helping-service, while Ann is working as an artist during the rest of the year.

    Our place is 5000 m² with a big garden and four typical swedish wooden buildings which need to be painted once a while. Best time to do so is springtime and autumn. But beside our regular work we just can´t make it completly by our self. We are looking for help on the most beautiful time of the year: middle of april to middle of june. In return you get our fully equipped holiday apartment free of charge and enough time to discover our wonderful island outside of the tourist season (I'm just saying: miles of EMPTY sandy beach!)

    Anns children are adults and are living in Germany. Paula, our mixpoodle, is getting old now, but she still is keeping up with us. Ann is a pescetarian (vegetarian who eats fish) and our cooking focusses on fresh and non-convenience ingredients. We are interested in human rights, climate change and generelly try to live in harmony with our surrounding and care for our inviroment. We support Plan International and WaterAid regulary and our electricity is green. We avoid plastic and all groceries with palmoil and we buy as much as possible at local stores (no amazon account!). We love to stroll around on fleemarkets and reuse things. Generelly we are not much into consumption, but we have everything we need (and much more than that, for sure). We are not religious or spiritual, but Ann does Yoga from time to time.

    We are just .....kind of normal people, I guess. ;)))

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Even if we are a new host on this platform, we have had helpers before which worked out fine for both sides. We also work with different employees every summer and know how close you can get by working together. Originally from Germany, we have been living on this Swedish island for 14 years, far away from a big city but surrounded by fantastic nature. We love this decelerated life on the countryside.

    We are open, tolerant and warm towards all people. We like to share our experiences and through our work with tourists we have a lot of knowledge of human nature and can tell you what it's like to start from scratch in a new country. We lived in Berlin for many years, saw the fall of the Wall, went on motorcycle trips and had some excitements in our life. Our wildest years may be over, but it never gets boring. We can only enjoy our relaxed life because we are also goal-oriented and hard-working. We hardly beat around the bush, but say what we think. (If we are not too tired after a long day at work,) we like to sit with a glass of red wine and discuss until late at night. We even like to play board games and we have our own pool billiard.

    We havn´t crossed the "Learning a new language" in this workaway offer, because we are no native swedes, but of course you may learn some words, if you are interested and we love to talk about our cultural experience ... ;)

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the help we need is outdoor and physically, but not too demanding. In the garden there are weeds to pick, roses and bushes to cut, the lawn needs to be mowed... There will be always a lot of painting to do. Our buildings are painted with the typical red color, called falu-red and it is easy to work with. This paint smells wonderful. Otherwise we need to renovate and paint a lot of windows. Some projects in spring 2022 are to replace the chicken fence, to lay a tin roof and to renew the insect hotel. We would appreciate if our workaways are some kind of handy. ;)

    You would need to take some working clothes, which may be dirty and painty. The temperature will probebly be about 10 to 18 degrees Celsius.

    We usually start with a cup of coffee while we decide what to do. Then we work 3-4 hours, have a lunchbreak and work about 2-3 more hours. But our workaways may have their own schedule, as long as the work gets done.

    Attention:
    We DO NOT NEED workaways for our business, all work will be done for our privat property and there is no working with our customers or guests. A matter of fact is that our business is closed during the periods we offer for our workaways. There will be no guests and costumers at our place during their stay.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our workaways would share our fully equipped holiday apartment, which is placed on the roof floor above the café. The 65 m² offers a kitchen, a bathroom, a sleeping room with 2 beds, a sleeping"castle" and two sofa bed in the living room. There is a heating/cooling system, but no tv. You may get access to our wireless network and you may use our washing machine. Pictures and details can be seen on our homepage (german/swedish).
    We may have some meals together, especially when we work together, otherwise you take care of your own needs. We are looking for two or maximum three persons, a couple or friends would be perfect, as you share the apartment, but no kids. You may bring your friendly dog.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This wonderful island is known for its beautiful and rough nature. There are plenty of wild orchids, birds, deep forrests with - yes - elks, sandy beaches (which you gonna have almost for yourself during may), a lot of rocks, many cows and sheeps. Borgholm is the biggest town nearby, about 50 km from us. There is an old castle ruins and only a few hundret meters from there is the holiday residence of the swedish royal family situated. If you like to hike or ride a bike, there are plenty of paths for you. We do have busses, but only a few times a day. If you would like to come by flight and/or train, you may take the bus from Kalmar directly to our garden gate. There is also a bus line from Stockholm to our small village (because of the summer tourists). The nearest beach is about 2 km from here and you can walk to our well sorted grocery store too (2 km). We gonna try to fix two bikes for our workaways this spring, but no fancy bikes, I am afraid. A car would be good to have anyhow. There are so many nice places we could suggest for a picknick or a walk. We do not have dancehalls, hotels or bars on this island, but gocarts and minigolf is popular. We do have some good restaurants, but if they will be open at all depends on the time of the year. There are a several lighthouses on the island and beside the one on the southern spit there is an ornithological station.

    Kalmar is on the mainland and 80 km from us, contected by a long bridge. It has a very nice old town, an art museum and an interesting county museum, a a cathedral and a moated castle.

    If you are vegetarian or vegan you will find our grocery store regulary offers tofu, fresh vegtables and fruits, oatly milk, vegetarian meat ... You can buy eggs at our neigbour farm.

    During the pandamic we are the lucky ones: in Sweden we do not have a lot of hard restrictions. Here in the countryside we almost don´t have any restrictions at all, as we are such a small amount of people on this big island. We use masks ourself while shoping groceries, but we are almost the only one wearing them. Otherwise we hardly get in contact with people and if, the meeting happens outside. Most people are vaccinated three times, as we are too. And we expect our workaways to be fully vaccinated against covid too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space for a campervan or caravan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    You may bring your friendly dog ;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 857299383766