Help create a guesthouse from the beginning in the heart of Lapland, Överkalix, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 100 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you want to help and stay in one of the most beautiful parts of the world, right in the heart of Swedish Lapland? Do you want to be in the Arctic circle, have reindeer and moose visit almost on a daily basis, do you want to have an awe inspiring gasp as the northern lights dance across the sky? Then come and help me renovate my house and grounds and get them ready to start a guest house later this year. Currently I’m on my own so desperately need help. Family come over and help occasionally and soon my son will be here also.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help you learn English if that is what you would like, otherwise we can learn Swedish together, I can also introduce you to the Swedish culture and the fabulous environment. In general, you will be part of starting up a new business so will benefit from house renovation, Business planning, marketing, customer service, sourcing local produce, exploring the local area to pass on information to guests.

  • Help

    Help

    The work is not taxing, and includes helping me with the following.
    - laying a new kitchen floor
    - making ikea furniture
    - taking up the old floors
    - laying new floors
    - clearing and waterproofing the basement
    - stripping the Lino from the stairs and replacing
    - building and fitting a new kitchen
    - stripping wallpaper, then painting walls
    - tiling and more painting
    - clearing snow outside
    - taking rubbish to the recycling center
    - if you have an aptitude for social media, you can daily post to publicize the ongoing work and generate followers

    Once the snow has started to melt, I will also need help in:
    - mending the outbuildings
    - reviewing the garden ready for guest cabins to be built
    - overseeing building of guest cabins
    - helping to furnish the guest cabins
    - helping to explore the local area, take photos etc, ready to explain to guests.
    - other work I haven’t found out about yet

    You don’t need to be experienced, just a willingness and enthusiasm to help. I need just basic help because I can’t do things on my own.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and basic Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in the main house. This will include basic WiFi. As the weeks pass and more jobs are ticked from the list, the facilities will get better. An upstairs bathroom will be in within a few weeks. The sauna, games room are all on the list to do. I will provide the food, but you will need to help with shopping so that we can buy what suits us both. Sharing the cooking would be great, and if you can share dishes from your country then I’m up for that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When your not working there is plenty to do such as walking, ice fishing, skiing, snowmobiling, northern light sporting, snowboarding, and visiting the big towns nearby such as Luleå, Haparanda, Gällivare etc. There is an excellent bus service, but we will make regular trips out to take photos, explore different places etc ready for the guest house opening and being able to tell guests what’s around locally. In late April / May, things will start changing here, the snow will be melting and by the end of May we will be in summer and getting ready for 24 hour daylight. The winter activities give way to messing about of the river, hiking, boating, fishing, and much more.

    Please note that moose and reindeer regularly pass through my garden, and whilst I can not guarantee a sighting, the chances are high. Same goes for the northern lights.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 854962695698