Looking for a babysitter to join our family in Patreksfjörður, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 26 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3 who lives in Patreksfjörður, Iceland. We are looking for an au-pair to look after our 1 year old daughter while we work at the local heritage museum (Hnjótur museum) and help around the house and garden.
    We also have a 7 year old Labrador who accepts walks, pats and treats every now and then.
    We live in the town of Patreksfjörður in the Westfjords of Iceland during the winter months, but in the summer we move to the countryside, to a beautiful area 40 km from Patreksfjörður, close to Látrabjarg bird cliffs, where you can visit the adorable puffins and enjoy stunning nature.
    We like to take short trips in the area and we also take regular trips to SV-Iceland, where our family lives. We spend a lot of time together, hiking, gardening, cooking among other things.
    We are archaeologists and we have a big interest in history and heritage. We are also interested in sustainable living and try to grow our own vegetables and eat local.
    We have lived in various places in Iceland, Sweden and Belfast, N-Ireland and we speak Icelandic, English and Swedish (and some Norwegian and Danish too).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get an opportunity to live with an Icelandic family and experience Icelandic culture through them.

  • Help

    Help

    The help is mainly taking care of our 1 year old daughter and helping around the house with simple chores while we work. Included in that would be preparing meals.
    Taking care of the dog and helping around in the garden will also be a part of the job.
    We look for an outgoing, friendly person that is good with children and has experience working with them.
    Driving licence is important since public transportation is not available in the area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in a house with shared kitchen, bathroom and living room. Basically the workawayer will be welcome to be a part of the family, but is also welcome to do things on their own.
    We live in the countryside during the summer but the town of Patreksfjörður during the winter. While you stay wit us, we might spend a few days in town or go and travel. You are welcome to join and we will make sure there is a room for you wherever we are staying :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can explore the area. There are plenty of sights in the neighbourhood, such as the Látrabjarg cliffs where you can visit the westernmost point of Europe, see the adorable puffins and other see birds, seals and stunning views. Close by is also Rauðisandur beach with beautiful nature and hiking possibilities and Dynjandi waterfall. Those three places are the biggest tourist attractions in the Westfjords, but we can also guide you to some hidden gems, off the beaten track if your interested. Then there are the warm pools we have around and lots of hiking possibilities.
    We will help you find your way around :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (4.0)





Host ref number: 854669417551