Help out at an artist's retreat and hostel in Oualidia, Morocco



Favourited 338 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We are a young family from the US and Canada, with Moroccan roots! Our family bought us a house in Oualidia, so we decided to open an Artist Retreat and Youth Hostel! We are both artists and are enjoying this chapter of our lives, living our days in the bliss of the Moroccan way of life, while having time for art and projects.

    We live here with our 4 year old daughter, 4 dogs and 2 cats!

    Our hostel is here to serve as a retreat space for artists looking to work on projects and enjoy a beautiful village and to be by the sea. We are open to all sorts of traveling folks and love meeting new people from all over the world!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in a beautiful little beach town, Oualidia in Morocco. It's a sweet little spot, quiet and definitely relaxing!

    Morocco is a culturally diverse country with so much to offer~Oualidia is a central place to be able to bounce around the country checking out the cities and other towns and sweet nature spots!

    My husband and I are from The US and Canada, but I have roots here in Morocco. I speak fluent french and am happy to help with language practice as well! My husband is really diving into Darija and would love to hang out and practice with anyone looking to brush up on it too!

    We are neo hippies and are both artists (My husband more on the Visual tip, while I am a musician). We come from the West Coast festival scene so are super open and loving people who love music, love and laughter. We are non judgmental and super easy going!

  • Help


    We have just opened a Artist retreat hostel in Morocco and have been having a lot of fun getting the house set up for guests! It is my husband, our 4 year old daughter and I! We also have 4 dogs and 2 cats!

    The help we're needing is as follows::..
    *Daily chores of the house

    *Gardening and landscaping, which is minimal as we have a small court yard and not a lot of land

    *Some building and reno work on the house. This includes building shelving for the dorm rooms, lockers and some tables and benches for the roof top terrace
    *Painting! We have a lot of dreary white walls that need to be freshened up!

    *MURALS! We are looking for artists who may be interested in coming and staying in exchange for a mural on one of our exterior walls!

    *Childcare and language practice with our 4 year old daughter, Zephyr! I am hoping to expose her to more french and Darija if possible!

    *Help with the walking the dogs twice a day!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We can offer a bunk in one of our dorm rooms. For a couple or small family, we can offer a private room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Oualidia is a quiet town, but if you love the beach, then you will LOVE it here! There is a beautiful lagoon, where the ocean comes in through a break in the cliffs and fills it up with warm ocean water. There are wonderful restaurants and cafes in town and but the beach to enjoy amazing seafood and yummy coffees and teas. The local people are open to visitors here, so chances are you'll make some friends, wandering around town!

    The Saturday Souk (market) is definitely not to be missed!

    We are very flexible, and tend to do our best work in the mid morning or later afternoon/evening. We are happy to coordinate with our volunteers and allow them freedom to explore Oualidia and Morocco. Open to comings and going if need be! Best is to create a plan around what is to be expected and then we trust you to make it happen!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 853946442642