Farm help in beautiful Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    342

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you love animals, horses and gardening you'll love our small farm. Located on the beautiful Sunshine Coast, BC, it's nestled between the ocean and mountains, a 40 minute ferry ride from Vancouver. You may be greeted by Tetely the pig, Skittles the goat, or Eyore the donkey.

    When our children were leaving home for University, my husband, a retired Professor, and myself, a horticulturist, set up a Farm Adventure Program. Our goal to introduce the public to happy, healthy, farm animals and horses. We currently have approximately 100, two and four legged animals running around, including horses, ponies, llama, mini horse, mini donkeys, pig, dwarf goat, peacocks, turkeys, assorted chickens/bantams, ducks, micro pigs, african goose, guinea pigs, pigeons, bunnies, and our Andalusian horses whom we had been breeding for 16 years(now semi retired). Not believing in cages, the majority of our animals roam free, though we do have a large room (petting pen) housing adorable bunnies, guinea pigs, pigeons, chicks, piglets; bringing smiles to children and the young of heart. Albert and I would like to share our farm, animals, horses, gardens, as well as our unique natural setting with like minded young travellers. In particular individuals interested in learning about and working with farm animals, horses, and gardens. Horse experience a plus.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience being part of a Canadian family, while interacting with numerous happy horses and farm animals. Gaining animal/horse/farm experience. Have the opportunity to explore our vast outdoors, horseback riding, kayaking, mountain biking available.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently looking for helpers for horse training, horses/animal care, as well as carpentry, handyman tasks and fencing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    May accommodate up to 3 volunteers, 2 sharing a large room, 1 in a smaller adjacent bedroom. Separate washroom/shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Suitable for horse/animal and nature lovers, who wish to experience being part of a Canadian family. Walking distance to the beach, horse, hiking and mountain bike trails. 3km to Gibsons. Bus stop at our doorstep. Will also help drive to town, provide mountain bikes, horses (if experienced), kayaks, for after work or days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 851939592494